Skip to main content

Bio-Inspired Design: IB C32: Data

Data Management Basics

NSF Data Management Plan Requirements: Proposals submitted on or after January 18, 2011, must include a supplementary document of no more than two pages labeled “Data Management Plan”.

Collaboration, accessibility and transparency are necessary for data management in modern science. Science.gov, NSF, NIH and other federal agencies mandate data plans with grant proposals.

Data Management Guidelines: NSF data management plan requirements: outline from the NSF Directorate for Biological Sciences

Data Management Tools

DMPTool
The Data Management Planning Tool offers step-by-step templates for many different funders, including NSF, NIH, and USDA

DASH: Data Sharing Made Easy:
Dash is a simple self-service tool for publishing datasets and for finding reusable data published by other researchers.

EZID Create persistent identifiers for data, samples, and archived files

ORCID = Open Researcher and Contributor ID
free registration of nonproprietary name code for contributor / author identification. Register: for an ORCID ID.

Data Repositories: Integrative Biology & the Environment

Atmospheric Radiation Monitoring (ARM) Data Archive
preserves data collected through the operations and scientific field experiments of the ARM Climate Research Facility.

Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (CDIAC)
Primary climate-change data and information analysis center of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). CDIAC's data of the concentrations of carbon dioxide and other active gases in the atmosphere; the role of the terrestrial biosphere and the oceans in the biogeochemical cycles of greenhouse gases; emissions of carbon dioxide to the atmosphere; long-term climate trends; the effects of elevated carbon dioxide on vegetation; and the vulnerability of coastal areas to rising sea level.

Chesapeake Bay Environmental Observatory (CBEO)
Available for registering datasets of different types, and searching for CBEO-registered data or for data registered in all projects within the GEON family of federated portals.

Computational and Information Systems Laboratory (CISL) Research Data Archive
contains meteorological and oceanographic observations, operational and reanalysis model outputs, and remote sensing datasets to support atmospheric and geosciences research, along with ancillary datasets, such as topography/bathymetry, vegetation, and land use.

Dryad
International repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences.

Geo.Data.gov
Geographic information system (GIS) portal or Geospatial One-Stop (GOS), contains geospatial metadata records and links to maps, features, catalog services, downloadable data sets, images, clearinghouses, map files, and more.

Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF)
allows researchers to publish and discover biodiversity data—taxon primary occurrence data, taxonomic checklists and resource metadata—as part of a distributed global network.

Ecological Society of America's Ecological Archives
publishes materials supplemental to articles that appear in the ESA print journals (Ecology, Ecological Applications, and Ecological Monographs), and peer-reviewed Data Papers.

Knowledge Network for Biocomplexity (KNB)
National network designed to facilitate the discovery and analysis of distributed ecological and environmental datasets.

National Ecological Observatory Network (NEON)
Continental-scale research platform for the impacts of climate change, land-use change, and invasive species on ecology.

Oak Ridge National Laboratory Distributed Active Archive Center (ORNL DAAC)
seeks to assemble, distribute, and archive data for terrestrial biogeochemistry and the ecosystem dynamics of global environmental change. The ORNL DAAC archives data generated by NASA's Terrestrial Ecology Program.

Ocean Biogeographic Information System (OBIS)
Established by the Census of Marine Life (CoML). It is an evolving strategic alliance of people and organizations sharing a vision to make marine biogeographic data, from all over the world, freely available over the World Wide Web.

Paleobiology Database
Provides global, collection-based occurrence and taxonomic data for marine and terrestrial animals and plants of any geological age, as well as web-based software for statistical analysis of the data.

PANGAEA® (Publishing Network for Geoscientific and Environmental Data)
Open Access library aimed of data from earth systems research.

Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute's (STRI) Center for Tropical Forest Science (CTFS)
Global network of large-scale and long-term studies that monitor three million+ individual tropical trees, representing more than 6,000 tree species — nearly 10% of the world’s entire tropical tree flora.

TreeBASE
Database of phylogenetic information hosted by the Yale. TreeBASE stores phylogenetic trees and the data matrices used to generate them from published research papers; accepts all types of phylogenetic data (e.g., trees of species, trees of populations, trees of genes) representing all biotic taxa.

USA National Phenology Network (USA-NPN)
Developing list of registered phenology data sets to make available to the research community and the general public.

VegBank
Vegetation plot database of the Ecological Society of America's Panel on Vegetation Classification. Vegetation records, community types and plant taxa may be submitted to VegBank and may be subsequently searched, viewed, annotated, revised, interpreted, downloaded, and cited.

VertNet
Global museum database of vertebrate natural history collections. 84.3 million+ vertebrate records shared online through four database networks organized by biological discipline: MaNIS (mammalogy), HerpNET (herpetology), ORNIS (ornithology) and FishNet (ichthyology).

World Data Center for Human Interactions in the Environment
Global data sets related to population, sustainability, poverty, health, hazards, conservation, governance and climate. It is hosted by Columbia University Earth Institute's Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN).

Services

Research Data Management, UC Berkeley support for data storage, and more

Technology@Berkeley. UC Berkeley list of services

Research IT at Berkeley: cloud computing, large projects, assistance with hardware.

CITRIS - established to address the most pressing social and environmental issues facing California. To meet this goal, we focus our research on four core initiatives: Energy, Health Care, Intelligent Infrastructure, and Data and Democracy.

Data Services

Data Aquisition & Access Program, UC Berkeley

The Data Acquisition and Access Program (DAAP) enables UC Berkeley faculty, students and staff to request data that require purchase, licensing or are otherwise restricted.  Made possible through a partnership between the University Libraries and the D-Lab, this program is focused on datasets that require license or user agreements to access.

The program has an open call for faculty, students and staff to submit requests for data.  More information on the criteria and eligibility for inclusion in this program can be found on the DAAP Guide.

Collaboration, file sharing and storage

 

Electronic Lab Notebooks (ELNs)

Copyright © 2014-2016 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 4.0 License.