Bio-Inspired Design: IB 32: Write, Cite, Present

Citation managers (also called reference managers or bibliographic management software) offer a way to save, organize and manage references. Many work with word processing software to format in-text citations and bibliographies for papers and theses, allow you to share references, and enable you to attach or link PDFs to a citation record.

Citation managers supported by the UC Berkeley Library:

• Zotero guide [UC Berkeley Library]
• Zotero documentation [Zotero.org]
• Free Zotero workshops [UC Berkeley Library; offered in the Fall and Spring semesters]
• Free desktop program with browser connector; 300 MB storage (can be synced with Google Drive, Berkeley Box or Dropbox for greater storage--see Zotero guide for details)
• Sync Zotero to access your library from any computer with internet access
• Insert citations and automatically format reference lists in Google Docs/bDrive, MS Word and LibreOffice
• Capture citation data from PDFs and web pages
• Share and collaboratively edit folders of references

• Mendeley guide [UC Berkeley Library]
• Free software/web hybrid for PC, Mac, Linux
• Format bibliographies in MS Word
• Sync PDFs to your web account for online access
• Capture citation data from some PDFs
• Read and annotate PDFs
• Share and collaboratively edit folders of references

• EndNote guide [UC Berkeley Library]
• Desktop-based software and online EndNote Web
• Desktop program requires purchase; EndNote Web is available without cost to UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff
• Format bibliographies in MS Word
• Capture citation data from some PDFs
• Annotate PDFs
• Find the full text of articles from within desktop EndNote
• Share lists of references with other EndNote users

For additional options: Wikipedia comparison of reference management software

Citation counts measure the impact of a publication, an author or a topic, by counting the number of times it is cited by other works. No Single citation analysis source covers all publications and their cited references.

Major citation count resources:

Web of Science: most interdisciplinary and comprehensive citation resource.

Google Scholar: citation information from scholarly journal articles within the Scholar database and from U.S. patents in Google Patents database. Option: eliminate the patents as a source of citation data or nclude citations from legal journals and opinions.

How to:
Select Advanced Scholar Search (link to right of search button).
Enter search terms

• Click Search Scholar button.
• Locate the correct article in the search results list.
• If the article was cited by others, you will see "Cited by" link at the bottom of the record.
• Click this link to view who has cited this item. For more information see Google Scholar's Help pages.

Be Aware:
-- Google Scholar does not index all scholarly articles.
-- Author names can be tricky to search and results can vary depending on how the name is entered.
-- Variants in how the item is cited can result in more than one entry for the item under study.
-- The term "citation" in brackets [CITATION] at an entry, indicates that full text is not accessible through Google Scholar.

Other indexes: Proquest, BioOne abstracts and more.
Publishers website: Wiley, Elsevier (ScienceDirect), SciFinder Scholar, JSTOR