Animal Behavior Desk Reference by
Provides a platform for precise scientific communication in animal behavior, ecology, evolution, and related branches of biology.
Botany Illustrated by
The illustration pages are composed of scientifically accurate line drawings with the true sizes of the plants indicated. Using colored pencils and the authors instructions, you can color the various plant structures to stand out in vivid clarity.
Dictionary of Biology by
Entries on key scientists and topics such as bioinformatics, genomics, molecular evolution, and protein structure. Appendices include classification of the animal and plant kingdoms; geological timescale; major mass extinctions of species; model organisms and their genomes; and Nobel prizewinners.
A Dictionary of Plant Sciences by
Coverage of plant sciences including biochemistry, plant physiology, cytology, ecology, genetics, evolution, biogeography, earth history, and earthsciences. New entries such as evo-devo, sister relationship, polytomy, and parallel sequencing make this the most up-to-date and comprehensive dictionary available. Appendices:The Universal Genetic Code, The Geologic Time-Scale, SI Units, Plant Classification, Fungi Classification.
A Dictionary of Zoology by
Covers all aspects of the study of animals, includes terms from ecology, animal behaviour, evolution, earth history, zoogeography, genetics, and physiology. Provides full taxonomic coverage of arthropods, other invertebrates, fish, reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals. 3rd ed includes behavioural ecology, conservation biology, coverage of cytology and new illustrations. Appendices include information on endangered animals, the universal genetic code, the geologic time scale, and SI units.
 |
eLS: Citable reviews in the life sciences (formerly Encyclopedia of Life Sciences) |
The Encyclopedia of Animals by
Illustrated exploration of the world of animals, detailed coverage of animals, mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fishes, and invertebrates.
Biodiversity Heritage Library: consortium of the world's largest natural history libraries, includes digitized content.
Understanding Evolution: project of the University of California Museum of Paleontology and the National Center for Science Education.
