UC Berkeley faculty, students and staff:
Interlibrary borrowing: obtain materials from other institutions; view My ILL Requests*
Research Library Cooperative Program (RLCP): Borrow materials from Stanford and UT Austin. Check RLCP website for eligibility.
Baker Document Delivery is a fee based Document Delivery Service for UCB faculty, staff, graduate students, and UCOP staff with current UCB library cards. To use Baker you must have a Baker account (see below).
Copyright information: UC Berkeley, UC system-wide
Non-UC Berkeley users and institutions:
Interlibrary lending of original material: provides access to the holdings of the UC Berkeley Libraries to institutional borrowers in the United States and Canada.
Photoduplication services: provides access to the holdings of the UC Berkeley Libraries to institutions and the general public.
Special Library Access document delivery services: provides access to the resources of the UC Berkeley Libraries for libraries, information centers, corporations, and other organizations on a subscriber basis.
E-books also available through topic searches in OskiCat and Melvyl. Limit your search in OskiCat to Available Online using the drop-down menu to the right of the search box. In Melvyl limit your search to Format > Book > eBook using the filters in the left-hand menu of the search results page.
Use dictionaries and encyclopedias for brief histories, specialized names, dates, places.
Animal behavior desk reference: a dictionary of animal behavior, ecology, and evolution / Edward M. Barrows.
A dictionary of plant sciences, edited by Michael Allaby.
A dictionary of zoology
Botany illustrated : introduction to plants, major groups, flowering plant families. print / ebook.
Encyclopedia of Insects, ebook.
Grzimek's animal life encyclopedia
The encyclopedia of animals : a complete visual guide
Dissertations and Theses (Dissertation Abstracts)
Index & full text of graduate dissertations and theses from North American and European schools and universities, including UC>
Coverage: 1861 - present. Dissertations published since 1980, and master's theses since 1988, include brief abstracts written by the authors. Offers full text of most of the dissertations added since 1997.
Search: Dissertations and Theses @ University of California (full text).
UCB access only.
UC Berkeley Dissertations
To locate sample dissertations from a specific UC Berkeley department,
search OskiCat for the keywords Berkeley dissertations <department name>.
berkeley dissertations environmental science policy and management
berkeley dissertations integrative biology