Library Guides: ESPM 50AC: Intro to Culture & Natural Resource Management: Specialized Databases

Databases for Natural Resources

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations to, plus some full text for, journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics. [1888 - present]
Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, renewable energy sources, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Contains millions of records from over 2,500 U.S. and international titles, plus full text of over 1,100 journals and nearly 200 monographs.

These multi-disciplinary databases can also be helpful:

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Use these instructions to set up access to full-text via UCB subscriptions.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Finding News Articles

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text information and perspectives from U.S. and international news sources. Includes a shortcut to search across California newspapers.
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).
Alt-Press Watch (APW) This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America. (AltPress Watch - altpresswatch) [1970 - present]
Reporting on politics and government, policy and culture, international issues, education, environment as well as reviews of theater, movies and books.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH) This link opens in a new window
Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Over 1000 alternative press titles focusing on the 60s, 70s and 80s. Includes publications by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, gays, lesbians and more. [1960 - 2000]
African American Newspapers, Series I (1827-1998) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 280 African American newspapers from around the country.
This collection includes historically significant African American Newspapers from more than 35 states and features many rare 19th-century titles. Also includes several California titles like the Los Angeles Tribune (1943-1960), Oakland Sunshine (1915-1922), and Western Outlook (1914-1928), and the Elevator (1865-1898).
Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
A collection of 45 national periodicals, local community news, and student publications from indigenous peoples of the U.S. and Canada. [1826-2016]
The bulk of titles were founded in the 1970s, documenting the proliferation of Indigenous journalism that grew out of the occupation of Wounded Knee, meeting the demand for objective reporting from within Indian Country.

Natural Resources: California and U.S. Government Reports and Documents

California Department of Fish and Wildlife Document Library
California Department of Water Resources Publications
National Agricultural Library Digital Collections
Offers full-text digital materials, primarily USDA research and historical publications.

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Citations and some full text for technical reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and other government agencies.
NTRL is the gateway to indexes, abstracts, and technical reports of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). The NTIS archives reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and others.

Treesearch
Online publications by scientists in the U.S. Forest Service. Note that there are many older reports that haven't been digitized and won't appear in Treesearch. For these reports, check UC Library Search for a print copy, or ask a librarian for help.

USGS Publications Warehouse This link opens in a new window
Citations and some full text for publications of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), including the USGS numbered series. [1880 - present]
Includes citations for approximately 75,000 publications of the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS), including the USGS numbered series. Many of these publications are available in full text online. Some older publications are in the DJVU format, which requires a plug-in
Science.gov This link opens in a new window
Search across federal science agency publications; includes Energy Citations Database, NASA Technical Report Server, USGS Publications Warehouse, etc.
A collaborative effort of 12 federal science agencies, this site serves as a gateway to more than 1800 scientific web sites. The site allows metasearching of free full-text and bibliographic databases such as Energy Citations Database, NASA Technical Report Server, NTIS, PubMed, Agricola, USGS Publications Warehouse, etc.

Borrowing items not available at UC Berkeley

The Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) assists UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff request books, articles and other materials not available at UC Berkeley

Databases for History and Culture

The Environmental History Bibliography is not a commercial database and does not have UC-eLinks enabled. For more about specialized history sources and how to use them, see the American History Guide by librarian Jennifer Dorner.

Environmental History Bibliography
Contains over 45,000 annotated citations to books, articles, and dissertations published from 1633 to the present and is updated online quarterly. Approximately 1,000 citations are added each year.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America (BIPNA) This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and US government documents covering 17 broad regions comprising 290 ethnic groups of native North America. [1500 - present]
Contains and updates citations from the print counterpart, Ethnographic Bibliography of North America, 1941-1990. Contains more than 80,000 citations. Includes content from the sixteenth century to the present.
Black Studies Center (BSC) This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, reference books, and more.
Includes three modules: The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience which includes interdisciplinary essays on the Black Experience; International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), a database covering some 150 scholarly and popular Black Studies journals, many of them in full text; and the full text backfile of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains approximately 100,000 pages of nonfiction writings by major American black leaders—teachers, artists, politicians, religious leaders, athletes, veterans, entertainers, and others—covering 250 years of history.
In addition to the most familiar works, Black Thought and Culture presents a great deal of previously inaccessible material, including letters, speeches, prefatory essays, political leaflets, interviews, periodicals, and trail transcripts. The ideas of nearly 100 people present an evolving and complex view of what it is to be black in America. The collection includes the words of hundreds of notable people. Important items include: a full run of The Black Panther newspaper; 2,500 pages of exclusive Black Panther oral histories owned by the Dr. Huey P. Newton Foundation; and the full run of Artist and Influence, originally published by the Hatch-Billops Collection. Includes brief biographical information for all authors.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Index of publications on Mexican-American topics and Latino cultures since 1967. [1967 - present]
Also includes materials about other Latino cultures (Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants) since 1992. Coverage includes art, language, sociology, public policy, economics, history, literature, politics, and law.
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. [1970 - present]
Indexes books, journals, conference proceedings, and official documents on Hispanic America (North, Central, and South), Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.

Also, one of these guides can help point you to other resources:

African American Studies
by Michele McKenzie Last Updated Feb 11, 2025 686 views this year
Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies
by Sine Hwang Jensen Last Updated Jan 17, 2025 658 views this year
Latin American Studies
by Liladhar R. Pendse Last Updated Jan 31, 2025 180 views this year
Native American Studies
by Melissa Stoner Last Updated Oct 31, 2024 982 views this year

History of Environment and Natural Resources - Primary Sources

Many more primary source collections are listed in the American History Guide, by type, chronological period, and region. Also see this Guide to Finding Historical Primary Sources.

Environmental History in the Bancroft Library
The Bancroft Library's Western Americana collection includes rich collections on the Environmental Movement in the Twentieth Century, Economic Development, Land Surveys, Mining in the West, and Native American Studies.
Environmental Collections in the Bancroft Library
This guide highlights some of the Bancroft's environmental collections, with a focus on primary sources, including pictorial collections and oral histories.
The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
Documents the historical formation and cultural foundations of the movement to conserve and protect America's natural heritage, through books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs, and motion picture footage drawn from the collections of the Library of Congress.

Environmental History: Conservation and Public Policy in America, 1870-1980 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources that document the role of government agencies, conservation organizations and individual actors who pioneered the study of the natural environment and campaigned for its protection. UCB access only.
The sources in this database document the different aspects of conservation and environmental public policy in North America in the modern era. Researchers can explore unique primary sources that trace the evolution of land rights, resource usage, trade rules, and environmental protections that mark the beginning of the modern conservation movement. Scholars will find the papers of pioneering conservationists such as George Bird Grinnell and Joseph Trimble Rothrock, alongside material from government agencies such as the Bureau of Land Management and the Bureau of Reclamation who have formed and conserved national parks, forests and dams across North America, shaping the landscape it is today.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment This link opens in a new window
Digitized archive that documents the relationships among early North American peoples and the environment.
Includes prints, drawings, paintings, maps, bibliographies, letters, photographs, and original facsimile pages documenting the relationships among peoples and with the environment in North America. Focuses on personal accounts and providing unique perspectives from all the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, Native Americans as well as a wide range of Europeans.
American Indian Histories and Cultures This link opens in a new window
Contains primary and secondary documents such as artwork, speeches, petitions, diaries, journals, correspondence, early linguistic and ethnographic accounts, photographs, maps, rare books and newspapers, ranging from the 16th to the 20th century.
Presents material from the Newberry Library's Edward E. Ayer Collection, an extensive archival collection on American Indian history. The content ranges from early contacts with European settlers through the expanded occupation of the American west, up through the Indian political movements of the mid-20th century. The collection covers a wide geographic area with a primary focus on North America and Mexico.
National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985 This link opens in a new window
This collection reproduces correspondence, reports, speeches, minutes and other materials relating to the farm workers, poverty programs, Public Law 78, Braceros, labor camps, the United Farm Workers Union and the Delano Grape Strike. [1965-1980]

Student & Youth Environmental Activism Web Archive
Documents youth and student engagement in climate change and environmental issues from around the globe beginning in 2019.

ProQuest History Vault This link opens in a new window
Search across all Proquest History Vault collections here. ProQuest History Vault unlocks a wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.

Guides to Finding Images

Searching for images at The Bancroft Library
by Lorna Kirwan Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 98 views this year
Image Databases
by Lynn Cunningham Last Updated Aug 16, 2024 121 views this year

Secondary menu

ESPM 50AC: Intro to Culture & Natural Resource Management: Specialized Databases

Intro

To access full text: