Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Moffitt Library, Main Stacks open for 24-hour access during RRR, finals weeks. Learn more.

Latin American Studies: Home

Welcome!

Cuzco, Peru. [Courtesy of Caphony at wikimedia.org]

Collection Overview

The Latin American Studies collection contains materials covering Latin America and the Carribeans. Its emphasis is on the humanities and social sciences, particularly language, literature, history, sociology, political science, marginalized groups, indigenous groups, and development studies.  

The majority of the collection can be found in the Main (Gardner) Stacks, as well as in the over 20 subject specialty libraries and affiliated libraries. Our collection complements the Bancroft's Latin Americana collection.  

Follow the Latin American Studies Collections blog to stay up date on new titles, events, and other exciting collection news!

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:

  1. Links to online resources on library websites, such as UC Library Search, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
  2. To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZproxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.

More information is on the EZproxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

Interlibrary Loan and Purchase Recommendation

If there is a title needed for your research but not available at UC Berkeley, consider using Interlibrary Borrowing Services. UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff can request materials from peer institutions through Melvyl or the Interlibrary Services office (133 Doe).

Is there a title that you think should be part of the collection? You can fill out the library's Purchase Recommendation form to submit your suggestion! 

 

Latin American News Feed

Loading ...

Contact

Profile Photo
Liladhar R. Pendse
Contact:
510-768-7610
lpendse (at) library (dot) berkeley (dot) edu
Website

Contact

Profile Photo
Liladhar R. Pendse
Contact:
510-768-7610
lpendse (at) library (dot) berkeley (dot) edu
Website

Follow us on Instagram