Library Guides: ESPM 60: Environmental Policy, Administration, and Law: Article and News Databases

Specialized Article Databases

Look for to link to full text.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. [1910 - present]
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/2023 due to library budget cuts. Covers topics including biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations to, plus some full text for, journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics. [1888 - present]
Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, renewable energy sources, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Contains millions of records from over 2,500 U.S. and international titles, plus full text of over 1,100 journals and nearly 200 monographs.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly, government, and general-interest titles about human impact on the environment.
Topics include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.

Tips for Finding Journal Articles

Scientific Literature
Material from Bio 1B covering primary literature, literature reviews, peer review, etc.
What is Peer Review?
Peer Review in 3 Minutes (Video)
Searching by topic
Material (from Bio 1B) on how to find articles on a topic. Includes choosing keywords, broadening a search (truncation, etc.), narrowing a search, and more.
Finding full text
Material from Bio 1B on finding the full text of articles.

Environment & Natural Resource News

E&E Daily This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of the energy and environmental policy debate in Congress, legislation, and politics.
Part of E&E News; related subscriptions: Greenwire, Climatewire, Energywire.
Greenwire This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy from E&E News. Among the key topics covered in Greenwire are: climate change, energy, environmental health, public lands, and natural resources. Related subscriptions are EnergyWire, ClimateWire, and E&E Daily, which focuses on congressional and legislative activity.
Climatewire This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. Key topics include agriculture, alternative energy, fossil fuels, species and ecosystem effects, and water resources.
FERN's Ag Insider This link opens in a new window
Daily reporting on news and policy of food, agriculture, and the environment. [2014-Present] (Ag Insider)
Includes tag-based searchable archive.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. [1991 - present]
Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere. Indexes editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction; speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints; bibliographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews. Interfaces available for French, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese. Alternative Press Index Archive provides coverage of materials from 1969 to 1990.
Alt-Press Watch (APW) This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America. (AltPress Watch - altpresswatch) [1970 - present]
Reporting on politics and government, policy and culture, international issues, education, environment as well as reviews of theater, movies and books.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage - includes shortcut to search more than 200 California newspapers.
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage, indexing more than California newspapers such as Contra Costa Times (1995-current), Sacramento Bee (1984-current), San Francisco Chronicle (1985-current), and San Jose Mercury News (1985-current). Search categories include: California newspapers (121 titles), Greater Los Angeles (54 titles), major metropolitan titles (13 titles), Spanish-language news sources (48 titles), the World (almost 2000 titles), US (855 titles).

Other News Databases
Dozens more databases to find newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, wire service stories, etc.

Citing Your Sources

Citing Sources
Why and how to cite sources, plus information on commonly used citation styles, citation management tools, plagiarism, and more.

Borrowing items not available at UC Berkeley

The Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) assists UC Berkeley students, faculty, and staff request books, articles and other materials not available at UC Berkeley

Secondary menu

ESPM 60: Environmental Policy, Administration, and Law: Article and News Databases

Specialized Article Databases

Tips for Finding Journal Articles

Environment & Natural Resource News

Citing Your Sources

Borrowing items not available at UC Berkeley