Library Guides: Library 101 for Rausser College of Natural Resources Students: Bonus Material

Selected reference sources

eLS : Citable Reviews in the Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Monthly-updating reference work containing peer-reviewed and citable articles written by leaders in the field.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Full text online collection of over 750 encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference works covering a spectrum of topics from the arts to the sciences.

Oxford Bibliographies in Environmental Science
Authoritative research guides, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries

Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Environmental Science This link opens in a new window
The ORE of Environmental Science is a dynamic, scholarly, and up-to-date reference work. Articles go beyond science for an interdisciplinary perspective on the environment including social science, ethics, history, and more.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Climate Science This link opens in a new window
The ORE of Climate Science is a dynamic, scholarly, and up-to-date reference work. It covers physical sciences, social sciences, and policy approaches to the study of climate.

Additional reference works related to: environment, plant/microbial biology, energy, ag econ, and nutrition/toxicology.

Sources of Data and Statistics

Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators. (DataPlanet - Data-Planet - Statistical Datasets)
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
SimplyAnalytics
Access to business packages within this resource have been discontinued effective 6/30/24 due to library budget cuts." A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to eart-library@berkeley.edu a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
An easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data may be downloaded to csv.
PolicyMap is an easy-to-use mapping program that includes over 15,000 US demographic and socioeconomic data indicators from the neighborhood census block to national levels. Data about demographics, neighborhood conditions, real estate markets, income, jobs and economy, education, crime, and health can be presented as maps, tables, charts and reports.

Data Sources
A multidisciplinary selection of databases containing data and statistics.
Text and Data Mining
Texts and data for your TDM research.
Climate Data
List of climate data resources maintained by UCB's Earth Sciences Library.
Health Statistics and Data
National and international data; compiled by UCB's Public Health librarian.
Bioinformatics
Guide to Bioinformatics resources and training.
Energy and Resources: Data
Sources for energy and water data.
Agriculture: Data
Data sources for agriculture and related topics.
IPUMS
Census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space.

Environment & Natural Resource News

Greenwire This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy from E&E News. Among the key topics covered in Greenwire are: climate change, energy, environmental health, public lands, and natural resources. Related subscriptions are EnergyWire, ClimateWire, and E&E Daily, which focuses on congressional and legislative activity.
Climatewire This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of the debate over climate policy and its effects on business, the environment and society. Key topics include agriculture, alternative energy, fossil fuels, species and ecosystem effects, and water resources.
E&E Daily This link opens in a new window
Daily coverage of the energy and environmental policy debate in Congress, legislation, and politics.
Part of E&E News; related subscriptions: Greenwire, Climatewire, Energywire.
FERN's Ag Insider This link opens in a new window
Daily reporting on news and policy of food, agriculture, and the environment. [2014-Present] (Ag Insider)
Includes tag-based searchable archive.

EcoAmericas
Monthly report on development and the environment in Latin America.
Inside Climate News
Browse stories on their website or sign up for daily or weekly newsletters, including one on clean energy.

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
Progressive, radical, and left North American magazines, newsletters, and journals. [1991 - present]
Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere. Indexes editorials, regular columns, essays, fiction; speeches, interviews, statistics, reprints; bibliographies, biographies, obituaries, memoirs; and reviews. Interfaces available for French, Spanish, Japanese, and Chinese. Alternative Press Index Archive provides coverage of materials from 1969 to 1990.
Alt-Press Watch (APW) This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America. (AltPress Watch - altpresswatch) [1970 - present]
Reporting on politics and government, policy and culture, international issues, education, environment as well as reviews of theater, movies and books.
PoliticoPro's California This link opens in a new window
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 3/14/25 due to library budget cuts. California specific news coverage from Politico.
Politico is one of the nation's respected sources for national political and government news and analysis. Politico has recently expanded their coverage to California politics and government. In addition to finding news articles about the state, the Datapoint and Documents modules contain current primary source information and info-graphics used in Politico's reporting for California and the nation. These can be reused in papers, classes, or other research projects.
EnergyWire This link opens in a new window
Energywire covers utilities including the switch to natural gas, the growth of distributed energy, threats to cybersecurity and technology. Provides insight into shale oil and gas development, pipelines, and liquefied natural gas due to markets, regulations and environmental concerns.

Free Student Access to NYT & WSJ
UCB students can get free access to the New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
News Databases
Use these databases to find newspaper articles, broadcast transcripts, wire service stories, etc. Access World News contains a shortcut to search across California newspapers.
Google News
Allows you to save searches and follow topics.

Secondary menu

Library 101 for Rausser College of Natural Resources Students: Bonus Material

Bonus: Reference Works and Sources for Statistics and News

Selected reference sources

Sources of Data and Statistics

Environment & Natural Resource News