It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
The Current Population Survey (CPS) is one of the oldest, largest, and most well-recognized surveys in the United States and provides information on employment, earnings, and education. The CPS has been done by the Census and Department of Labor since the 1940's (earlier reports done by the Department of Labor go back to the 1930's). Sometimes, the older reports are called "Special Census." Also be sure to check out the various supplements done each month.
Find economic data down by neighborhood, cities, including income, rent/mortgage, etc
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
US economic time series data from the Federal Reserve Bank.
A database of over 3000 U.S. economic time series which can be downloaded in Microsoft Excel and text formats and viewed as charts of data series. Categories of data include banking, consumer price indexes (CPI), gross domestic product (GDP), employment and population and more.
Searchable online archive of downloadable economics working papers by the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). [1994 - present]
Provides access to NBER research results through the working paper series.The NBER is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works. Their research is conducted by more than 600 university professors around the country, the leading scholars in their fields. NBER Data and Data links provide access to government economic information such as business cycle data.
ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in countries across the world. ICPSR maintains a data archive of on topics in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
Direct download access to data sets requires the creation of a personal account. In addition, analysis of ICPSR data sets requires the use of specialized software. For more information on this process, please consult the ICPSR Get Help page or schedule an appointment with the Library Data Lab.
Business and Economic Information from the U.S. Census
In addition to providing a wealth of household economic information (rent/mortgage, income, etc), the Census Bureau also conducts various other surveys relating to economic issues. Older, print versions of these reports can be found by searching Oskicat for the title, or year and title (such as the 2002 Economic Census).
North American Industrial Classification Code is a 6-digit code breakdown of every industry and sub-industry in the United States, Canada and Mexico. An older version of this is called SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) and applied to the U.S. only.