Library Guides: U.S. Data and Statistical Sources: Quick Access to Data/Statistics

Free Public Access to Government Information

Free public access to United States government documents in a federal depository library is guaranteed by law (44 USC §1911). While UC Berkeley houses one of the most comprehensive collections of U.S. government documents in the country, the Library is one of over a thousand Federal Depository Libraries across the United States, and one of several Federal Depository Libraries in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Quick Access to Federal Statistics and Data

These sources provide quick access to the most requested data/statistics. They also provide citation information which can lead you to more sources for in-depth statistics or even raw numeric and text data.

Data.gov -- Gain access to hudreds of datasets from the US and some state level government information. Some datasets provide access to API's.
FDSys Bulk Data Download -- Repository of bulk text data from the Government Publishing Office, including the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Bills, etc.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, 1878 to present.
The United States Statistical Abstract (aka Stat Ab) is useful both as a convenient source for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information, in print and on the Web (when available). Sources include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. Prior to 2012, the Stat Ab was provided free of charge. In 2012, Congress cancelled funding and ProQuest has continued producing the Stat Ab.
Historical Statistics of the United States (HSUS): Millennial Edition This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive statistics and quantitative facts on US history. (Statistical Abstract of the United States)
Coverage includes population, work and welfare, economics structure and economic sectors, and governance and international relations. Date coverage varies by subject with some data going back to 1790. Allows users to download tables in Excel or CSV; also download entire groups of tables as a zip file; create custom tables; merge columns from multiple tables to create custom tables, which can also be downloaded, printed, or graphed.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
Sage Data This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to a wide variety of economic, social, political, and marketing indicators. (DataPlanet - Data-Planet - Statistical Datasets)
Offers easy access to over 5,550 data sets from over 65 source providers and 16 subject categories, including banking, criminal justice, education,energy, food and agriculture, government, health, housing and construction,industry and commerce, labor and employment, natural resources and environment, income, cost of living, stocks, transportation, and more. Sources of data include federal, local, state and international governments and organizations. Allows for customization of the data by selecting subjects, and the ability to view your data in side-by-side tables, charts and maps.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in countries across the world. ICPSR maintains a data archive of on topics in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
Direct download access to data sets requires the creation of a personal account. In addition, analysis of ICPSR data sets requires the use of specialized software. For more information on this process, please consult the ICPSR Get Help page or schedule an appointment with the Library Data Lab.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.

Secondary menu

U.S. Data and Statistical Sources: Quick Access to Data/Statistics

Free Public Access to Government Information

Quick Access to Federal Statistics and Data