It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
American Community Survey -- Provides estimates of demographic, housing, social, and economic characteristics every year for all states, as well as for all cities, counties, metropolitan areas, and population groups of 65,000 people or more.
American Factfinder -- Interactive, searchable database to find population, housing, industry and business statistics from the U.S. Census. Data available from 2000-present. American Factfinder allows the user to compile census data into tables, maps and downloadable files, which can be viewed or printed.
DataFerrett -- Allows the creation of custom statistics from several datasets.
Census FTP Server -- The Census Bureau makes much of its raw datafiles available via an FTP server. This is for experienced data users familar with statistical software packages such as SAS, SPSS, Stata. Codebooks are provided for each dataset.
iPums.org -- Provides access to Public Use Microdata Samples (PUMS) which are Census datasets of geographic areas over 100,000 people.
NHGIS -- National Historic GIS. Provides access to GIS shapefiles and census data.
Current Population Surveys -- Joint effort between the Census and Bureau of Labor Statistics. Provides detailed labor force statistics of the U.S. population.
Data and interactive thematic maps from the U.S. Census from 1790-present.
Provides access to current and historical United States census data, including all historic decennial censuses and American Community Surveys, as well as other demographic information, such as religious organizations. Census data is current to 2010 and historical back to 1790. In addition to being a data resource, the web interface lets users create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables, and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Note: Access limited to 10 simultaneous users. To increase the limit temporarily for use in classes or workshops, please send your request to firstname.lastname@example.org a minimum of 5 business days in advance.
A web-based data analysis and mapping application that allows users to create custom thematic maps, tables and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Includes over 70,000 data variables related to demographics, employment, real estate & housing, crime, businesses, consumer spending, and points of interest data from the US Census, historical US Census data (2000), SimmonsLOCAL data from Experian, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM data.
ICPSR receives, processes, and distributes data on social phenomena in countries across the world. ICPSR maintains a data archive of on topics in the social and behavioral sciences, including specialized collections in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Includes survey data, census records, election returns, economic data, and legislative records.
Direct download access to data sets requires the creation of a personal account. In addition, analysis of ICPSR data sets requires the use of specialized software. For more information on this process, please consult the ICPSR Get Help page or schedule an appointment with the Library Data Lab.