Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.

Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Find articles on Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies from academic journals, serials like newspapers and magazines, and online databases.

Key Asian American Studies Journals

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is an easy way to do interdisciplinary research, and with some settings changes can become even more useful.  You need a Google account to use these features.

  • Set up a Google Scholar Alert to be automatically notified when new articles are added to Google on topics of interest: 

Do your search in Google Scholar. Look in the left sidebar for the Create Alert link next to the envelope icon, and click it.  New items will be sent to your email account as they are found by Google.

  • Make Google display links to full text of articles that Berkeley subscribes to:

Open Scholar. Click on the menu icon three linesin the upper left corner and then the gear icongear, settingsto reach the settings page. On the next screen, choose Library Links from the left-hand menu. In the search box, type the word Berkeley.  Choose University of California, Berkeley - Get it at UC, and Open Worldcat Search.

Do a Google Scholar search. Click on the "Cited by" link under a citation and select the "Search within articles citing..." checkbox.

Suggested Journal Article Databases

The library provides access to thousands databases. Databases are collections of resources of all types -- journal articles, ebooks, primary sources, film, and more. For recommendations on databases relevant to Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies, see A-Z Databases: Asian American Studies and below. 

Suggested News Article Databases