Library Guides: Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies: Media

Media

Media can range from film, music, photography and more. Through the UC Berkeley Libraries, you can access audiovisual media related to Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies.

For information, visit the Video Streaming and Clipping for Instructors and Students Library Guide

Media Resources Center: DVDs and Non Print Media

The Media Resources Center (MRC) is the UC Berkeley Library's primary collection of materials in audio and visual formats, including DVDs, videocassettes, streamed audio and video, compact audio discs, and audiocassettes.

How to Cite Media

You can also find non-print media of all types in UC Library Search; search by keywords, author, subject, title, etc. and pull down the "Entire Collection" menu to the type of resource you want (maps, films, etc.)

All Media Resources Center materials must be used on-site.

Media Databases

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service which provides access to more than 26,000 films, including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.

Kanopy has many films and documentaries related to Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies. Search "Asian American" or browse by subject. Relevant subjects include Documentaries -> Ethnicity & Identity and Social Sciences -> Race & Class Studies. Set up Library Proxy Server to be able to view at home and use the "Create Clip/Playlist" button in the video to create clips that you can screen in your classroom.

Lumiere
Lumière (originally known as the Library of Foreign Language Film Clips) was created by the Berkeley Language Center in 2008. This online library contains 20,434 clips drawn from 6,576 films in 65 languages. Clips and films in Lumière may be used only as part of a course offered by not-for-profit educational institutions for students registered for credit at that institution.

Docuseek2 This link opens in a new window
Docuseek2 is a streaming video service featuring social issue and documentary films from independent distributors, including Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films, National Film Board of Canada, and Fanlight.
Note: When browsing the platform, you will see film icons next to each title. Grayed out icons indicate Berkeley does not have access to these titles. To view a list limited to titles owned by Berkeley, click the "My Movies" link at the top of the page.
Independent World Cinema: Classic and Contemporary Film This link opens in a new window
Includes over 400 documentary and feature films from select American distributors of independent and international film, including Milestone Films, Zeitgeist Films, Pragda, and Oscilloscope.
Internet Archive: Moving Images This link opens in a new window
An online archive of "ephemeral films," including films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.
An online archive of "ephemeral films," including films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions. Includes advertisement and publicity films, educational films, government propaganda, and other historically important moving image materials. Includes access to TV News: Search and Borrow, a collection of thousands of news programs collected over 3 years in stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C.
U.S. News Archives on the Web This link opens in a new window
Links to dozens of U.S. news archives and their full text and online back files.
Provides links to Web versions of dozens of U.S. news archives and their full text, online back files.

Asian American Media

APEX Express
APEX Express is a weekly magazine-style radio show featuring the voices and stories of Asians and Asian Americans from all corners of our communities. A collective of media makers, djs, and activists produce a show that airs each week on KPFA 94.1FM.
Center for Asian American Media
The Center for Asian American Media is a nonprofit organization dedicated to presenting stories that convey the richness and diversity of Asian American experiences to the broadest audience possible. We do this by funding, producing, distributing and exhibiting works in film, television and digital media. For 40 years, CAAM has exposed audiences to new voices and communities, advancing our collective understanding of the American experience through programs specifically designed to engage the Asian American community and the public at large.
No Alibis
Weekly radio show hosted by UC Santa Barbara Asian American Studies Librarian Gary Colmenar.

Selected Asian American Studies Films

The fall of the I-Hotel by Chonk Moonhunter Productions.; Choy, Curtis.; Robles, Al.; Omori, Emiko.
Publication Date: 2005
After a decade of spirited resistance to the razing of Manilatown, the battle for housing in San Francisco ends in the brutal eviction of the elderly tenants of the International Hotel. "The Fall of the I-Hotel" serves as the witness to the community's fight to survive, and as a tribute to the dignity and strength of the Manongs.

Viewed continuously by students of Asian American Studies since its release in 1983, "The Fall of the I-Hotel" is available online with this remastered edition. Not only does this film document the struggle to save the I-Hotel, it provides an overview of Filipino American history. This is not just a story about old men in an old building, but of multiple tragedies: ethnic communities redeveloped out of existence, housing gobbled up by realtors, the shabby treatment of the elderly, and the betrayal of American ideals learned in the Philippines by its American pioneers.

Secondary menu

Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies

Media

Media

Media Resources Center: DVDs and Non Print Media

Media Databases

Asian American Media

Selected Asian American Studies Films