Asian American and Asian Diaspora Studies

AAPI Data is a nationally recognized publisher of demographic data and policy research on Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, with hundreds of news mentions in national and local outlets. Our reputation is built on data and research that is accurate, compelling, and timely. In addition to our news impact, community organizations, government agencies, and decisionmakers regularly reach out to us, to better understand key aspects of AAPI communities.

In this project, AAS faculty and students at San Francisco State University volunteer to develop APIA biographies, curricular activities and resources. The mission of the APIA Biography Project includes educating the general public about API America with an annual APIA Heritage Month Celebration at the San Francisco Main Public Library and a resource website created especially for K-12 students and teachers.

Asian American Feminist Collective (AAFC) is a grassroots racial and gender justice group based in New York City engaging in intersectional feminist politics grounded within our diasporic communities.

Launched in 2020, the Asian American Research Center at UC Berkeley is a preeminent research center for the study of Asian Americans/Asian diasporas in national, hemispheric, and global contexts. It brings together a vibrant, innovative, and dynamic assemblage of scholars, researchers, policy-makers, community organizers, and cultural producers to address a multiplicity of interests and concerns. The Center work to raise public awareness of Asian American/diaspora issues and advance cutting-edge research, develop innovative curricula, and promote community-campus engagement.

APALA is a nonprofit organization dedicated to enhancing leadership opportunities through informed dialogue that addresses the needs of Asian/Pacific American librarians and those who serve APA communities. For those seeking books, see APALA's book reviews and book awards.

The Center for Lao Studies is a unique organization that serves both as an academic and a resource center for scholars, the general public, and persons of Lao heritage around the world. Our mission is to advance knowledge and engagement in the field of Lao Studies through research, education and information sharing. Our vision is to be an institution that leads and excels in the pursuit of knowledge in the field of Lao Studies. At the Center for Lao Studies, we provide an opportunity for all to use our resources, participate in our programs, and to be educated and informed on all issues pertaining to Lao Studies.

A Different Asian American Timeline covers nearly 600 years of history starting with the early Atlantic slave trade in the 15th Century, tracing the rise of modern nation-states, and covering events that have affected people across racial boundaries.

Filipino American Artist Directory is a participatory artist project by St. Louis-based artist Janna Añonuevo Langholz to connect and make visible the broad community of visual artists of Filipino heritage living and working in and between the United States and the Philippines. Through a geographic survey of creative work being produced in the scope of US empire, it aims to turn history back on itself in the retelling of Filipino American experience as told by Filipino American artists and be a catalyst for radical change in the art world.

The year 2015 marked 40 years of the Hmong migration from Laos and Thailand to the United States of America. To commemorate this special anniversary, an exhibition comprised of photographs, stories, fine art, and artifacts was create to showcase the Hmong experience.
Hmongstory 40 is a joint effort from many people from throughout the state of California. It represents a collaborative that shares a common vision. This exhibition provides a rare and intimate opportunity to connect with the Hmong people. From the past to the present, Hmongstory 40 constructed a narrative that was absent within the Hmong community and to the general public at large.

OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum.

OER Project courses make sense of our world by connecting the past to the present with an eye toward the future. Everything is free, online, and totally adaptable to meet your students' individual needs.

The UCI Libraries Oral History Toolkit is a free resource designed by the Special Collections and Archives Team for our community members, whether you are interested in conducting a single oral history interview or implementing a large-scale project to document a community or historical event. These six modules can be adapted and scaled to your specific needs. We highlight resources that our community members continue to request, such as sample consent forms, strategies for enhancing access and long-term preservation. Our commitment to fostering community-centered archives (supporting the preservation and access to underrepresented histories) is the driving force behind this Toolkit. This is a living document that we hope to enhance and grow with community feedback.

Make Us Visible activates and empowers local communities to build curriculum and advocate for the integration of Asian American contributions, experiences, and histories in K-12 classrooms.

Fleeing brutal political oppression, refugees from Burma have begun to arrive in the San Francisco Bay Area in increasing numbers since 2007. An estimated five hundred have resettled in this area, especially in east Oakland. Based on data from 194 surveys, two focus groups, and 12 in-depth interviews of refugees, this report identifies the needs, strengths and aspirations of the emerging communities of refugees from Burma who have settled in or near the East Bay. All data was collected in Oakland between 2009 and 2011.

This report is a collaboration between Red Canary Song in New York City, Massage Parlor Outreach Project in the Seattle metropolitan area, Butterfly Asian and Migrant Sex Workers Support Network in Toronto, Canada, and Brown University’s Center for the Study of Slavery and Justice in Providence, Rhode Island. It is a distillation of work done by North America-based migrant workers, sex workers, and their allies. It presents data about the anti-Asian nature of state-sanctioned violence against massage workers, ways that different municipalities, states, and provinces have targeted Asian massage work, and different forms of political action--community action and policy change in turn--that massage workers are considering to end their oppression. Different communities and collectives have different visions on how to approach state violence, some groups approving of work with governments to end these violent practices, and others preferring to focus on purely community alternatives. This report respects all approaches as methods for respecting the self-determination of communities and
their specific needs and visions for justice.

120-page resource guide aimed to critically analyze Asian and Pacific Islanders and incarceration, create a directory of resources, and publish relevant and useful information for future studies.

Up to Us is the first, most comprehensive study of transgender and gender non-conforming Asians and Pacific Islanders in the San Francisco Bay Area. In early 2019, APIENC began this community-based action research project in order to visibilize the experiences of TGNC APIs in the Bay Area, and create opportunities to organize in the long-term. Throughout this report, you will find the voices of trans APIs speaking to their experiences with police, searching for safe homes, surviving everyday violence, navigating health care, and finding the care we deserve. While the data can be heartbreaking, we believe this research is a powerful tool to shape our solutions and the future we deserve.