Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A selective list of compilations of the best works on the subject. Use them to get a jump-start on your research.
For additional resources search
Library catalogs under: Subject: Architecture--United States--Bibliography; or Architecture--Bibliography.
American architects from the Civil War to the First World War, a guide to information sources / Lawrence Wodehouse. Detroit: Gale Research Co., 1976. Gale information guide library, Art and architecture information guide series v. 3
American architects from the First World War to the present, a guide to information sources / Lawrence Wodehouse. Detroit: Gale Research Co, c1977. Art and architecture information guide series; v. 4, Gale information guide library
American architectural books; a list of books, portfolios, and pamphlets on architecture and related subjects published in America before 1895. New expanded ed. New York : Da Capo Press, 1976. Da Capo Press series in architecture and decorative art. Includes chronological short-title list of Hitchcock's American architectural books, and list of architectural periodicals before 1895.
American architecture and art a guide to information sources / edited by David M. Sokol. Detroit : Gale Research Co.,  American studies information guide series v. 2, Gale information guide series.
Architectural books in early America: architectural treatises and building handbooks available in American libraries and bookstores through 1800. Janice Gayle Schimmelman. 1st ed., 2nd print., rev. and expanded. New Castle, Del.: Oak Knoll Press, 1999.
Architecture: a bibliographic guide to basic reference works, histories, and handbooks / Donald L. Ehresmann. Littleton, Colo.: Libraries Unlimited, c1984. Arranged by time period. Good coverage of United States. "Bibliographic essay," in
/ Vincent Scully. New rev. ed. New York : H. Holt, 1988, p. 297-305. American architecture and urbanism
Goode's bibliography: doctoral dissertations relating to American architectural history, 1897-1995 / James M. Goode. 2nd ed. Chicago: Distributed by Society of Architectural Historians, 1995.
Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record: an annotated bibliography / compiled by James C. Massey, Nancy B. Schwartz, Shirley Maxwell. [Washington, D.C.?] : Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Board, National Park Service, U.S. Dept. of the Interior, 1992. Covers publications 1933-91 issued by HABS/HAER, National Park Service or Government Publishing Office that document the architecture and buildings of American cities or states.
A Historical bibliography of commercial architecture in the United States. Compiled by Richard Longstreth, 2002; revised 8 May 2013. (PDF)
Houses from books: treatises, pattern books, and catalogs in American architecture, 1738-1950: a history and guide/ Daniel D. Reiff. University Park, Pa. : Pennsylvania State University Press, c2000.
A list of architectural books available in America before the Revolution. Helen Park. New ed., rev. and enl., Los Angeles, Hennessey & Ingalls, 1973. Art & architecture bibliographies, 1.
Papers of the American Association of Architectural Bibliographers. NY [etc.] Garland Publishing [etc.], 1965-1979. Garland reference library of the humanities; v. 115-16. Excellent bibliographies on American architects and architecture. "United States," in
, chap. J, Architecture. Etta Arntzen, Robert Rainwater. Chicago: American Library Association, 1980. Covers publications from 1959-1977. Guide to the literature of art history "United States," in
, chap. J, Architecture. Max Marmor, Alex Ross. Chicago : American Library Association, 2005. Covers publications from 1977-1998. Guide to the literature of art history 2