Library Guides: American Architecture: Journals

UC-elinks

Provides a way to easily move from an article citation to the electronic version of the item, to check to see if the item is available on your campus, or to request items not available on our campus.

Click on the button to locate the journal in the UC libraries.

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:

Links to online resources on library websites, such as UC Library Search, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZproxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.

More information is on the EZproxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

Finding journal articles

A selection of journal (periodical) indexes to find articles on your topic.

America: History and Life
UC Only. Contains article abstracts and bibliographical citations of reviews & dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada.
Index of journals on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. (American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1900 - APS Online) [1740 -1940]
Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including general interest magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and other periodicals. Among the titles include: Massachusetts Magazine, Pennsylvania Magazine, National Era, Southern Literary Messenger, Scribner's, Lippincott's, Ladies' Home Journal and McClure's.

American Studies article databases
Descriptions and links to electronic indexes or databases with excellent coverage of American studies.

Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications in the fields of archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, computer graphics, crafts, film, folk art, graphic arts, industrial design, interior design, landscape architecture, museology, painting, photography, sculpture, television, textiles, and video. [1929-1984]
Includes citations to art reproductions. Provides citations from Volumes 1-32 of the print counterpart, Art Index. (Art Index Retro - Art Index)
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Covers 750 art journals including 470 peer reviewed journals, dissertations, reviews, and over 200 books related to art and architecture topics. Includes coverage from 1929 to present, including the complete former contents of Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Some full text.
Formerly titled Art Source or Art Full Text
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
UC Only Contains citations to articles in periodicals in architecture, planning, urban design, and related disciplines. Includes most American architecture journals.
Can limit to articles containing plans, sections, elevations and other graphic attributes. Most citations are from articles published since 1930 (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s).
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH) This link opens in a new window
Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1000 scholarly journals, including more than 2 million articles, from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR. [dates vary].
For more sophisticated search capabilities, go directly to JSTOR advanced search.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to international, national, local newspapers, and wire services, as well as radio and television transcripts. Database also includes business, medical, industry, and legislative magazines, journals, and newsletters. Also includes laws from the U.S., all 50 states, and law reviews. Wide geographic coverage and translations from foreign-language sources, as well as news services like the Associated Press, Agence France Press, El Pai.
Nexis Uni allows users to set up personal accounts to personalize your research experience. Nexis Uni has replaced LexiNexis Academic. [dates vary]

Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Indexes American and English periodicals and newspapers from a 105-year span. Enhances W.F. Poole's Index to Periodical Literature 1802-1906, by including more publications and offering subject access to articles

Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Indexes American magazines and journals published between 1890 to 1982.
EBSCOhost (formerly WilsonWeb) (EBSCO)

For additional indexes see

All Architecture Databases
(UC Berkeley, Library)
Architecture Indexes & Abstracts

Secondary menu

American Architecture: Journals

UC-elinks

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

Finding journal articles