Library Guides: Environmental Science, Policy, and Management: Articles

Top Research Databases

Use one or more of these databases to find articles, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials relevant to research in ESPM. If you are unsure which databases to use, please ask your librarian.

To find full text, look for

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, monographs, conferences, books, annual reports, and other sources from the agricultural literature and from more than 100 countries. [1910 - present]
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/2023 due to library budget cuts. Covers topics including biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Citations to, plus some full text for, journal articles and books on a wide variety of environmental topics. [1888 - present]
Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, environmental technology, geography, marine & freshwater science, natural resources, pollution & waste management, public policy, renewable energy sources, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Contains millions of records from over 2,500 U.S. and international titles, plus full text of over 1,100 journals and nearly 200 monographs.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals, books, maps, US and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents published worldwide on geology and other subjects within the geosciences. [1785 - present]
Includes all publications of the USGS. Database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Use these instructions to set up access to full-text via UCB subscriptions.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
PolicyFile This link opens in a new window
Index to U.S. foreign and domestic public policy reports. (Policy File) [1990 - present]
Covers the areas of economics, politics, the environment, and social issues, taken from reports from a wide range of think tanks, Non-governmental organizations, international governmental organizations, and other institutions worldwide.
ProQuest Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Search social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform.
An interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, PAIS, PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

To learn how to use PubMed most effectively, see the library's PubMed guide.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
SEARCH (USDA NAL) This link opens in a new window
The USDA National Agricultural Library’s search tool that includes results from AGRICOLA (USDA's catalog and articles database), PubAg (USDA’s public access repository), and the NAL Digital Collections (historical documents and images).
Topics include nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural statistics, extension education, and soil science.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

Other Databases
There are many more databases available at UCB. Find an appropriate database by subject or type.

And here's a friendly reminder:

Conditions of Use for Electronic Reources

Find Journals and Full Text

Use Journal Search to find online or print access to a particular journal.
To find full text when searching in an article database, look for links:
To find full text from a citation, paste the citation into the search box in UC Library Search.

Searching Tips and Lit Review Basics

Searching by topic
Material (from a biology assignment using the Web of Science platform) on how to find articles on a topic. Includes choosing keywords, broadening a search (truncation, etc.), narrowing a search, and more.
Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students
Helpful video from NCSU libraries. It's geared towards grad students but also relevant to anyone doing a thesis, capstone project, or other major research paper.

For items not available at UC Berkeley

UCB Faculty, Staff, and Students:

Interlibrary Borrowing Service (IBS) Request books, articles, and other materials not available at UC Berkeley.

Non-UCB Borrowers:

See UCB Library's information on interlibrary lending and duplication services.

Recommend a Purchase:

Use this form to recommend purchases (books, etc.) or subscriptions.

Read journals on your tablet or smartphone

Browzine
Browzine allows you to browse scholarly journals available from the UC Berkeley Library or from open sources on your Android or iOS mobile device.
more...less...
-Access thousands of scholarly journals anywhere you have WiFi access.
-View complete issues of journals including the table of contents.
-Create a personal library of up to 64 favorite journals for easy access on your BrowZine interface.
-Be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published.
-Save articles on your mobile device to read later even when you are offline.
-Download BrowZine articles to Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services to help keep all of your information together in one place.

Secondary menu

Environmental Science, Policy, and Management: Articles

Top Research Databases

Find Journals and Full Text

Searching Tips and Lit Review Basics

For items not available at UC Berkeley

Read journals on your tablet or smartphone