Medieval Studies: General Resources

Provides access selected excerpts of Medieval Studies. Also includes medieval sources and a section on ancient, medieval and Byzantine hagiographical sources.

The BCM contains records of monographs and miscellanies as well as book reviews, providing complementary data to the International Medieval Bibliography, whose aim is to provide a register of articles from periodicals and miscellanies. Originating in the printed bibliography published in the well-known Cahiers de civilisation médiévale between 1958 and 2009, it is sustained by the work of selection and indexing carried out at the CESCM. Initially dedicated to the High Middle Ages, it has progressively broadened its scope, going from Late Antiquity to the Late Middle Ages (300-1500).

Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Among the broad subjects covered are women in art, women in religion, marriage, sexuality and family.

The International Medieval Bibliography comprises 440,000 articles, all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records. The IMB offers an unparalleled tool for medievalists to identify the contents of current work published throughout Europe, the Americas and the Asia-Pacific region.

A bibliography of more than 1.45 million citations for secondary source material about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.

Authoritative multidisciplinary research guide, including annotated bibliographies and encyclopedia entries, covering the humanities and social sciences.

The database includes complete coverage of four medieval studies encyclopedias: Encyclopedia of Medieval Chronicle, Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450, Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage, and Brill’s Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. Searches can be performed across encyclopedias or limited to one title.

This international directory of scholars working in fields relating to the Middle Ages allows searching by name, field, country, and institution. It includes scholars from over 70 countries.

An entirely new supplement to the Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA), is being produced under the joint auspices of the UCLA Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies and Brepols Publishers; it will be made available at Brepolis, the Brepols site for online medieval encyclopedias, bibliographies, and databases. The chronological range of IEMA is 300-1500 CE, and it will cover all of Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East. IEMA complements and fills in gaps in the coverage of the present Lexikon des Mittelalters (LexMA). Searches are conducted jointly with the Lexikon des Mittelalters - Online.

An indispensable research tool for medievalists of all disciplines. Based upon the most important encyclopaedia in the world for medievalists (published in German between 1977 and 1999), LexMA’s 36,700 signed articles written by 3,000 authors covers all aspects of medieval studies within the period 300 to 1500. Its geographical scope covers the whole of Europe, part of the Middle East, and parts of North Africa to document the roots of Western culture and those of its neighbours in the Byzantine, Arab and Jewish worlds.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages is an essential new reference work covering all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era. The Dictionary provides balanced coverage of both the whole geographical extent of the European Middle Ages (including Germany and Austria, Spain and Portugal, the Low Countries, and Central and Eastern Europe, amongst many others), and of numerous major topics, from art and architecture, medicine, and law, to archaeology, ecclesiastical history, and languages and literature.