Medieval Studies: Italian

Dedicated to Dante, his biography, his time, and his works; includes a database of extant manuscripts and an online edition of De Monarchia. Produced by the Società Dantesca Italiana.

Offers online texts of the Decameron in Italian and English. The site appears not to have been updated for some time.

Searchable texts of early Italian poetry. Contains 200 poets who produced approximately 2,400 works, 85,000 verses, 350,000 words, and 3,000,000 characters.

Searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy.

Bibliography of the vernacular dialects of Italy up to the beginning of the 15th century consisting of the bibliographic data from textual corpora of the Opera del Vocabolario Italiano and additional material from the Tesoro della Lingua Italiana delle Origini.

Allows keyword searching in 1960 vernacular texts (22.3 million words, 456,000 unique forms) the majority of which are dated prior to 1375, the year of Boccaccio's death. The verse and prose works include early masters of Italian literature like Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio, as well as lesser-known and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and medieval chroniclers.

Historical dictionary of vernacular dialects incorporating citations from the Bibliografia dei Testi Volgari (http://pluto.ovi.cnr.it/btv).

Integrated multimedia journey--combining artistic images, textual commentary, and audio recordings--through the three realms of the afterlife (Inferno, Purgatory, Paradise) presented in the Divine Comedy. The site is structured around a visual representation of Dante's worlds: it shows who and what appear where.

Offers original research and ideas on Dante: on his thought and work and on various aspects of his reception. Showcases work that intersperses prose with visual components. Feature scholarship on Dante in three different contexts: 1) The Commento Baroliniano, 2) Intertextual Dante 3) Image, Sound, History and Text.

Multi-media research tool intended to facilitate the study of the Divine Comedy through a wide range of offerings. These include an encoded Italian text which allows for structured searches and analyses, an English translation, interactive maps, diagrams, music, a database, timeline and gallery of illustrations.