Medieval Studies: Latin

The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum (Main (Gardner) Stacks: f BX4655 .A2 1863), from the edition published in sixty-eight volumes by the Societé des Bollandistes in Antwerp and Brussels. It is a collection of documents examining the lives of saints, organised according to each saint's feast day, and runs from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.

Hymns of the Catholic Church, 500-1400 (Music Library: BV468 .A6).

Digitized texts of Celtic-Latin literature from the early Middle Ages period 400-1200 A.D. Part of the Royal Irish Academy's Dictionary of Medieval Latin from Celtic Sources project.

The complete corpus of medieval translations of the works of Aristotle
This database contains, first of all, those texts that have been critically edited in the printed Aristoteles Latinus series. Other corpora complete the database, whether editions that have already been published or ones in preparation or unpublished, to produce the finished Aristoteles Latinus.

Editions of the writings of Christian Latin authors covering the period from the late second century to the death of the Venerable Bede in 735 (Art History/Classics Library, Room 308D BR60 .C6)

Transcriptions of the public domain translated works published in the 10 volume Ante-Nicene Fathers and the 36 volume Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers. Translations are literal and somewhat antiquated.

Transcriptions of translated works published in a variety of public domain books or created within the context of personal research. These are separate from the main Early Church Fathers online collection. Translations are literal and somewhat antiquated, reliability varies, and modern critical matter may not be included.

One million incipits covering Latin literature from its origins to the Renaissance.

Combines LLT-A and LLT-B to form a single database extending from the beginning of Latin literature to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). The LLT allows searches to be made across more than 141 million words, spread across 5,442 works and 5,084 diplomatic charters. While the LLT-A contributes 4,281 works, 1,161 works, as well as the charters, are taken from the LLT-B. Of these works, 4,275 are attributed to 1,136 authors, whereas 1,167 works are classified under their titles. Works from the Series Latina of the Corpus Christianorum are included in the original publication or in new editions.

Online version of the Monumenta Germaniae Historica, an essential series consisting of modern editions of medieval texts on the history of Central and Northwestern Europe. In more than 300 volumes, covering the widest possible range of historical documents, the MGH is divided into five major Series (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae and Antiquitates) and into 33 Subseries.

Online version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.

The database Ut per litteras apostolicas... represents the online version of the series of registers and letters of the popes from the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries, preserved in the Archivio Segreto Vaticano in Rome. The collection, edited since 1883 by the École française de Rome, and then in partnership with the CNRS, comprises today some eighty printed volumes.

Abbreviationes, a database of medieval Latin abbreviations, currently comprises over 70,000 entries containing a total of 80,098 references to manuscripts. Abbreviationes is based on a large number of manuscripts from all fields, held at a wide variety of libraries throughout Europe – from Catania in the South, Uppsala in the North, Coimbra in the West to St. Petersburg in the East. It includes large collections such as the manuscripts held by the Vatican Library or the libraries at Oxford and Paris as well as many smaller collections. Major collections in the United States, such as the manuscripts held by the Morgan Library (New York City, New York) and the Huntington Library (San Marino, California), are also included. The entries in the database cover the period from the 8th century up to and including the 15th century.

Contains over 4,000 entries and 200 plus illustrations covering pre-modern European history and culture. includes complete coverage of four medieval studies encyclopedias: Encyclopedia of Medieval Chronicle, Encyclopedia of Medieval Dress and Textiles of the British Isles c. 450-1450, Encyclopedia of Medieval Pilgrimage, and Brill’s Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages. Searches can be performed across encyclopedias or limited to one title.

A database of 24 searchable Latin dictionaries.

The most comprehensive dictionary of Medieval Latin to have been produced and the first to focus on British Medieval Latin. Covers a particularly long period stretching from Gildas (fl. 540) to William Camden (1600), it is based on the close reading of thousands of Medieval Latin texts. The print edition may be found at Doe Reference Dictionaries: PA2891 .L281.

Jan Frederik Niermeyer's Mediae Latinitatis Lexicon Minus is a compendious and practical lexicon for succinct information intended for those working in the field of Medieval History. This dictionary provides French and English translations for every entry of a Medieval Latin concept. All entries are contextualized with relevant text passages. The source data for this online version of Mediae Latinitatis Lexikon Minus is the 1984 edition and so includes J.F. Niermeyer's original Medieval Latin Dictionary and the Index Fontium from his hand plus the completing entries compiled by Co van de Kieft in the years up to 1976 (see also the 1976 print edition: Graduate Services Dictionaries: PA2364 .N5)

Open access edition of this Medieval Latin dictionary, which has been published in individual volumes since 1959 by the Bavarian Academy of Sciences/ C. H. Beck. The digitization of print volumes is ongoing.

Latin-German dictionary of Latin place names. The most recent edition (1972) is available in searchable scans at the Bavarian State Library through the above link; a digital version of the contents of the 1909 edition is hosted by Columbia University at http://www.columbia.edu/acis/ets/Graesse/contents.html. For a print copy of the 1972 edition, see Doe Reference: G107 .G8.