French & Francophone Literatures

Offers the most comprehensive collection of French-language journals in the humanities and social sciences available online. UC Berkeley subscribes to the complete package or "Bouquet General" which includes the full text of more than 500 peer-reviewed academic journals. It also provides citations and links to the open-access back issues to many scholarly journals available through OpenEdition Journals. For back issues not available through Cairn, search Persee.fr. UCB has also purchased access to a selection of ebooks through Cairn, available in the library catalog.

Includes all data from Humanities International Index. Subjects covered include archaeology, literature, religion, art, dance, theater, folklore, history, African-American studies, law, women's studies, and more.

Sponsored by the Modern Language Association.

For more guidance on using this database see the following tutorials: Saving your search & setting alerts

Among the broad subjects Covered are women in art, women in religion, marriage, sexuality and family.

Provides free electronic access to one of the world's largest collections of digitized books, periodicals, documents, manuscripts, images and audio-visual resources. One can browse (Decouverte), search (Recherche), or explore thematic groupings of materials (Dossiers).

Thanks to the Library's participation in a joint Germa0merican document delivery project called GBV, the Library can obtain copies of IBR articles from German partners in digital form quickly at no additional cost to users via Interlibrary Borrowing Services.

Covers Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

Includes a number of databases useful to the fields of classical, medieval, and Renaissance studies such as Iter Italicum, a catalog of Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections around the world, International Directory of Scholars, International Directory of Renaissance and Reformation Associations and Institutes, and Scholars of Early Modern Studies (volume 34).

Provides access to content of numerous print counterparts including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Indexes millions of articles published in over 4,700 periodicals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. A sister database, Periodicals Archive Online, provides a full-text archive of over 700 journals published between 1802 and 2005.

An initiative of the French Ministry of State Education, Higher Education and Higher Education and Research.

OpenEdition Journals (Formerly Revues.org) is part of OpenEdition, a comprehensive digital publishing infrastructure whose objective is to promote research in the humanities and social sciences. The institutional subscription to OpenEdition Fremium allows the UC Berkeley community to participate in an acquisitions policy that both supports sustainable development of OA and that respects the needs of teaching, research and learning communities: no DRM or download quotas are applied.