Library Guides: Doe & Main Collections: Arts & Humanities

Arts & Humanities Collections in Main and Doe

Other UCB Libraries with Arts & Humanities Collections

Anthropology Library
The George and Mary Foster Anthropology Library holds academic works covering sociocultural anthropology, traditional cultures, archaeology, folklore methods and theory, and physical anthropology.
Art History/Classics Library
The Art History/Classics Library supports research for students and faculty in the departments of History of Art, Art Practice, Classics, and Ancient History and Mediterranean Archaeology.
Bancroft Library
The Bancroft Library is the primary special collections library at UC Berkeley, and one of the largest and most heavily used libraries of manuscripts, rare books, and unique materials in the United States.
East Asian Library
The C. V. Starr East Asian Library (EAL) contains one of the most comprehensive collections of materials in East Asian languages in the United States.
Environmental Design Library
The Environmental Design Library is one of the premier architecture, landscape architecture, and city and regional planning libraries in North America.
Ethnic Studies Library
The Ethnic Studies Library at UC Berkeley was established in 1997 by merging the Asian American Studies Library, the Chicano Studies Library, and the Native American Studies Library.
Graduate Services
Graduate Services, located in Doe Library, offers a core non-circulating research collection that supports UC Berkeley’s graduate programs in the humanities and history, as well as course reserves for graduate humanities and social sciences classes.
Graduate Theological Union
The Graduate Theological Union Library maintains a cooperative collection development policy with the UC Berkeley Library and provides for the sharing of collecting responsibilities for various aspects of religious studies between the two institutions.
Media Resources Center
The Media Resources Center (MRC), located in Doe Library, is the UC Berkeley Library’s primary collection of materials in audio and visual formats, including DVDs, videocassettes, streamed audio and video, compact audio discs, and audiocassettes.
Morrison Library
Morrison Library opened in 1928 as a traditional library reading room providing a tranquil atmosphere for students to take a break from the rigors of academic life.
Music Library
The Jean Gray Hargrove Music Library serves the diverse teaching and research needs of the UC Berkeley Department of Music, which offers a general undergraduate major and graduate programs in musicology, ethnomusicology, and composition, as well as embracing a variety of performance activities.
Newspapers & Microforms Library
The Newspapers & Microforms Library is home to the UC Berkeley Library’s principal collections of newspapers, with more than 100 active newsprint subscriptions, and over 900 titles archived on microfilm.
Pacific Film Archive Library
In addition to providing access to more than 15,000 films and videos, the library also makes a wide range of film-related materials available to the public for research purposes.
Philosophy Library
A collection of non-circulating periodicals and monographs in philosophy.
South/Southeast Asia Library
The South/Southeast Asia Library (S/SEAL) is the reference center for South and Southeast Asia social sciences and humanities on the UC Berkeley campus.

Doe, Moffitt and Main (Gardner) Stacks

Doe Library supports the teaching, research, and instructional needs affiliated with more than fifty academic departments and programs in the Arts and Humanities, Social Sciences, and International and Area Studies. The Doe Library building is home to several libraries and is connected to the Gardner (MAIN) Stacks where the collections of the Doe/Moffitt Libraries are shelved.

The Main (Gardner) Stacks contain Doe Library's research collections and is reserved as a primary study area for UC Berkeley students and faculty.

The Moffitt Library serves the UC Berkeley students, faculty and staff. The newly renovated 4th and 5th floors, Media Resources Center, course reserves, and long hours make this a popular place to study and meet. Computing services, wireless access, quiet spaces, and areas for groups are found throughout the Moffitt Library. The Free Speech Movement Cafe is open to all campus visitors.

Secondary menu

Doe & Main Collections: Arts & Humanities

Arts & Humanities Collections in Main and Doe

Other UCB Libraries with Arts & Humanities Collections

Doe, Moffitt and Main (Gardner) Stacks