When searching for more specialized topics try using an article database. These help you find peer reviewed journal articles and scholarly book chapters. We have many to choose from in the library and some possibilities are listed here.
Academic Search Complete. A general multidisciplinary source for articles in over 5000 journals and other publications.
America: History and Life. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries and selected journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Alternative Press Index. Alternative, radical, and left magazines and journals which report and analyze issues of cultural, economic, political, and social change. Approximately 90% of publications included are not indexed elsewhere.
Google Scholar. Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Hein Online. Digital collection of the complete contents of legal and law-related materials. Includes sevral libraries devoted to international law, including the World Treaty Library and United Nations Law Collection.
Historical Abstracts. Indexes over 2,000 journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history.
JSTOR. Includes over 1000 scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.
PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, grey literature, research reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, and social issues worldwide.
Proquest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary metasearch through 22 of the the social sciences indexes on the ProQuest platform.
Women's Studies International. Indexes books, journals, magazines, and other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues. Includes thousands so research articles relating to human rights women and children.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy.
ABSEES Online Database. Citations to research on Eastern Europe, Central Europe, and the former Soviet Union published in the US and Canada
Africa-Wide Information. A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on Africa.
African Journals Online (AJOL) World's largest online library of peer-reviewed, African published scholarly journals, 243 of which are open access.
Almandumah Arabic Database. Full text database for Arabic scholarly output. It includes almost one million items (1/3 in abstract), including about 1900 unique Arabic journals, 2500 conferences, and 200,000 dissertations
Bibliography of Asian Studies. Citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, of East, South, and Southeast Asia.
Central and East European Online Library. Full text PDF articles from 442 humanities and social science journals and re-digitized documents pertaining to Central, Eastern and South-Eastern European topics
Chinese Studies Online. Full-text Chinese journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, legislation and law from the PRC, in a wide range of subject areas and dating from 1997 to the present.
Handbook of Latin American Studies. Indexes books, journals and proceedings on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars in humanities and social sciences.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries.
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies. Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalog, Middle East Bibliography, Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database.
RedAlyc. A collection of over 1200 open access scholarly journals covering all aspects of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences published by more than 500 institutions in 22 Ibero-American countries.
SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online. Collection of open access scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in the Global South, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean.
The following are a selection of specialized and broader interest journals containing articles on genocide. Each can be searched independently.