Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open. Here’s what you need to know.

Transportation Engineering: Home

A guide to research resources on transportation engineering topics.

Getting Started With Transportation Research

When starting a research project of any size, it's good to take a moment to frame your question and process.

  • What is your research topic? What is your hypothesis, and what are some ways you could test it?
  • How does your research question relate to transportation and other disciplines? What terminology might you use?
  • What data sources and other information do you need to answer your question?
  • Where might that data and information be available? (Is it available?)

Determining the answers to these questions will help you develop your research strategy, and which sources to consider. 

Article Databases

These databases linked below are good recourses for finding peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and technical reports. Use UC-eLinks to link access full text when available. 

About UC Library Search

About UC Library Search

Venn diagram about what UC Library Search includes

Access UC Library Search directly or from the Library homepage to find most (what isn't included?) books, articles, media, archival collections, and more from: 

  • UC Berkeley
  • Other UC Libraries
  • WorldCat (select Advanced Search, then WorldCat)

Sign in to view all results and to manage your:

  • Saved records and searches.
  • Requested and borrowed items.
  • Messages, blocks, fines, and fees.

 

Off campus? Use the proxy or the VPN for full access(You may be prompted to sign in again.)

Find Books & eBooks

Many publishers also allow full text searching of their ebooks on their native platforms. The following are major science publishers from which UC Berkeley has purchased ebooks:

Or, browse all available ebook collections in all subject areas at UC Berkeley.

Off-campus Access to Library Resources

There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:

  1. Links to online resources on library websites, such as OskiCat, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
  2. To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZProxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.

More information is on the EZProxy guide.

The campus VPN provides an alternate method for off-campus access.

Transportation Librarian

Profile Photo
Kendra Levine
she/her
Contact:
412 McLaughlin Hall
UC Berkeley
Berkeley CA 94720-1720
510-643-3348
Website

Campus Libraries for Transportation

Campus libraries that have transportation engineering resources are:

Their collections can be found in OskiCat