It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
When starting a research project of any size, it's good to take a moment to frame your question and process.
What is your research topic? What is your hypothesis, and what are some ways you could test it?
How does your research question relate to transportation and other disciplines? What terminology might you use?
What data sources and other information do you need to answer your question?
Where might that data and information be available? (Is it available?)
Determining the answers to these questions will help you develop your research strategy, and which sources to consider.
These databases linked below are good recourses for finding peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings, book chapters, and technical reports. Use UC-eLinks to link access full text when available.
The best resource for transportation research. Contains technical reports, conference proceedings, and peer-reviewed journal articles.
TRID combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.
Contains articles on intelligent transportation systems, autonomous vehicles, control theory.
Indexes IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. It also includes IEE publications for the same time period (IEE is the
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Provides links to footnoted citations as well as sources that have subsequently cited an article. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (from 1975), Science Citation Index (from 1900), and Social Sciences Citation Index (from 1900).
Collection of books and handbooks in bioscience, engineering, environmental sciences, mathematics, physics, statistics, social sciences, and other fields from Taylor & Francis including their CRC Press and Routledge imprints. Formerly ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, and similar collections.
Find technical information as well as analytical and search tools for the engineering community.
Collection of over 8000 engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. Can be searched by topic across the aggregated set, or users can browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
Collection of resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes articles, ebooks, reference works, and laboratory protocols and databases.
Exclusions to the collection are textbooks and major reference works.
Or, browse all available ebook collections in all subject areas at UC Berkeley.
Off-campus Access to Library Resources
There are two ways to connect to library resources from off-campus using the new library proxy:
Links to online resources on library websites, such as OskiCat, will allow you to login with CalNet directly.
To access library resources found via non-UCB sites, such as Google or Google Scholar, you can add the EZProxy bookmarklet to your browser. Then, whenever you land on a licensed library resource, select your EZproxy bookmarklet to enable CalNet login.