Transportation Engineering: Books

Transportation Engineering: Theory, Practice and Modeling, Second Edition presents comprehensive information related to traffic engineering and control, transportation planning and evaluation of transportation alternatives. The book systematically deals with almost the entire transportation engineering area, offering various techniques related to transportation modeling, transportation planning, and traffic control. It also shows readers how to use models and methods when predicting travel and freight transportation demand, how to analyze existing transportation networks, how to plan for new networks, and how to develop traffic control tactics and strategies. New topics addressed include alternative Intersections, alternative interchanges and individual/private transportation. Readers will also learn how to utilize a range of engineering concepts and methods to make future transportation systems safer, more cost-effective, and "greener". Providing a broad view of transportation engineering, including transport infrastructure, control methods and analysis techniques, this new edition is for postgraduates in transportation and professionals needing to keep up-to-date with the latest theories and models. Covers all forms of transportation engineering, including air, rail, road and public transit modes Examines different transportation modes and how to make them sustainable Features a new chapter covering the reliability, resilience, robustness and vulnerability of transportation systems

This volume in the Encyclopedia of Complexity and Systems Science (ECSS) covers such fascinating and practical topics as (i) Vehicular traffic flow theory, (ii) Studies of real field traffic data, (iii) Complex phenomena of self-organization in vehicular traffic, (iv) Effect of automatic driving (self-driving vehicles) on traffic flow, v) Complex dynamics of city traffic, (vi) Dynamic control and optimization of traffic and transportation networks, including dynamic traffic assignment in the network, (vii) Pedestrian traffic, (viii) Evacuation scenarios, and (ix) Network characteristics of air control. Review articles are written by international experts covering the diverse and complex dynamics of traffic management. Topics new to the Second Edition of ECSS include microscopic traffic flow models, self-driving, complex dynamics of bus, tram and elevator delays, and breakdown minimization.

This unique book explains how to think systematically about public transportation through the lens of physics models. The book includes aspects of system design, resource management, operations and control. It presents both, basic theories that reveal fundamental issues, and practical recipes that can be readily used for real-world applications. The principles conveyed in this book cover not only traditional transit modes such as subways, buses and taxis but also the newer mobility services that are being enabled by advances in telematics and robotics.Although the book is rigorous, it includes numerous exercises and a presentation style suitable for senior undergraduate or entry-level graduate students in engineering. The book can also serve as a reference for transportation professionals and researchers keen in this field.

Highway Engineering: Planning, Design, and Operations, Second Edition, presents a clear and rigorous exposition of highway engineering concepts, including project development and the relationship between planning, operations, safety and highway types. The book includes important topics such as corridor selection and traverses, horizontal and vertical alignment, design controls, basic roadway design, cross section elements, intersection and interchange design, and the integration of new vehicle technologies and trends. It also presents end of chapter exercises to further aid understanding and learning. This edition has been fully updated with the current design policies and reference manuals essential for highway, transportation, and civil engineers who are required to work to these standards. Provides an updated resource on current design standards from the Highway Capacity Manual and the Green Book Covers fundamental traffic flow relationships and traffic impact analysis, collision analysis, road safety audits and advisory speeds Presents the latest applications and engineering considerations for highway planning, design and construction

Statistical Techniques for Transportation Engineering is written with a systematic approach in mind and covers a full range of data analysis topics, from the introductory level (basic probability, measures of dispersion, random variable, discrete and continuous distributions) through more generally used techniques (common statistical distributions, hypothesis testing), to advanced analysis and statistical modeling techniques (regression, AnoVa, and time series). The book also provides worked out examples and solved problems for a wide variety of transportation engineering challenges. Demonstrates how to effectively interpret, summarize, and report transportation data using appropriate statistical descriptors Teaches how to identify and apply appropriate analysis methods for transportation data Explains how to evaluate transportation proposals and schemes with statistical rigor

Emerging Paradigms in Urban Mobility: Planning, Finance and Implementation explains the types of new urban mobility planning paradigms that are emerging throughout the world, along with their potential to transform the transportation landscape. As half of the world's 7 billion people now live in cities, thus causing severe road congestion, increased air pollution, energy insecurity and sustainability problems in cities and the planet itself, this book presents new paradigms that are emerging to address these problems, along with other topics of note, including economic efficiency, health, the well-being of cities and their residents, urban mobility transformations, and the role of social media. In addition, the book looks at Integrated Corridor Management and how it improves the people-moving performance of multi-modal transport systems in high demand urban corridors and how countries balance the mobility benefits of motorcycles with the environmental and safety threats they pose. Provides previously unpublished research on new approaches to integrating governance, the changing role of IT, and shared mobility initiatives Links transportation and land use, climate change, and poverty reduction and gender, going well beyond the technical issues of transport planning Highlights successful factors that have worked and how they can be tailored to different contexts Includes learning aids, such as case studies, text boxes and chapter openers and summaries

Traffic, highway, and transportation design principles and practical applications This comprehensive textbook clearly explains the many aspects of transportation systems planning, design, operation, and maintenance. Transportation Engineering: A Practical Approach to Highway Design, Traffic Analysis, and Systems Operations explores key topics, including geometric design for roadway alignment; traffic demand, flow, and control; and highway and intersection capacity. Emerging issues such as livable streets, automated vehicles, and smart cities are also discussed. You will get real-world case studies that highlight practical applications as well as valuable diagrams and tables that define transportation engineering terms and acronyms.     Coverage includes: * An introduction to transportation engineering * Geometric design * Traffic flow theory * Traffic control * Capacity and level of service * Highway safety * Transportation demand * Transportation systems management and operations * Emerging topics

This book provides a macro-level understanding of transportation as an industry, through the lens of all the stakeholders that make up the ecosystem. It aids understanding about the transportation ecosystem, its components, challenges, contribution to economic growth, and the interplay between the stakeholders that govern the system. The contents also examine the background and history of transportation, emphasizing the fundamental role and importance the industry plays in companies, society, and the environment in which transportation service is provided. The book also provides an overview of carrier operations, management, technology, and the strategic principles for the successful management of different modes of transportation. This book is of interest to those working in academia, industry, and policy in the areas of transportation.  

Written by an international team of researchers, this book focuses on traffic information processing and signal control using emerging types of traffic data. It conveys advanced methods to estimate and predict traffic flows at different levels, including macroscopic, mesoscopic and microscopic. The aim of these predictions is to optimize traffic signal control for intersections and to mitigate ever-growing traffic congestion. The book begins with an introduction to the topic, its fundamental principles and recent developments. The first part of the book then covers the estimation and prediction of the traffic flow state based on emerging detailed data sources. Coverage in this section includes traffic analytics with online web data; macroscopic traffic performance indicators based on floating car data; short-term travel time prediction by deep learning a comparison of different LSTM-DNN models; short-term traffic prediction under disruptions using deep leaning; real time demand based traffic diversion; game theoretic lane change strategy for cooperative vehicles under perfect information; and cooperative driving and a lane change-free road transportation system. The second part focuses on traffic signal control optimization, explaining how to use improved data and advanced tools for better signal control. Chapters include urban traffic control systems; algorithms and models for signal coordination; emerging technologies to enhance traffic signal coordination practices; control for short-distance intersections; and multi-day evaluation of adaptive traffic signal system based on license plate recognition detector data. A valuable resource for researchers and engineers working in the field of traffic information and control, and intelligent transport systems, Traffic Information and Control offers an overview of recent research and practical approaches to optimising traffic signal control. demand based traffic diversion; game theoretic lane change strategy for cooperative vehicles under perfect information; and cooperative driving and a lane change-free road transportation system. The second part focuses on traffic signal control optimization, explaining how to use improved data and advanced tools for better signal control. Chapters include urban traffic control systems; algorithms and models for signal coordination; emerging technologies to enhance traffic signal coordination practices; control for short-distance intersections; and multi-day evaluation of adaptive traffic signal system based on license plate recognition detector data. A valuable resource for researchers and engineers working in the field of traffic information and control, and intelligent transport systems, Traffic Information and Control offers an overview of recent research and practical approaches to optimising traffic signal control. demand based traffic diversion; game theoretic lane change strategy for cooperative vehicles under perfect information; and cooperative driving and a lane change-free road transportation system. The second part focuses on traffic signal control optimization, explaining how to use improved data and advanced tools for better signal control. Chapters include urban traffic control systems; algorithms and models for signal coordination; emerging technologies to enhance traffic signal coordination practices; control for short-distance intersections; and multi-day evaluation of adaptive traffic signal system based on license plate recognition detector data. A valuable resource for researchers and engineers working in the field of traffic information and control, and intelligent transport systems, Traffic Information and Control offers an overview of recent research and practical approaches to optimising traffic signal control. demand based traffic diversion; game theoretic lane change strategy for cooperative vehicles under perfect information; and cooperative driving and a lane change-free road transportation system. The second part focuses on traffic signal control optimization, explaining how to use improved data and advanced tools for better signal control. Chapters include urban traffic control systems; algorithms and models for signal coordination; emerging technologies to enhance traffic signal coordination practices; control for short-distance intersections; and multi-day evaluation of adaptive traffic signal system based on license plate recognition detector data. A valuable resource for researchers and engineers working in the field of traffic information and control, and intelligent transport systems, Traffic Information and Control offers an overview of recent research and practical approaches to optimising traffic signal control. ersion; game theoretic lane change strategy for cooperative vehicles under perfect information; and cooperative driving and a lane change-free road transportation system. The second part focuses on traffic signal control optimization, explaining how to use improved data and advanced tools for better signal control. Chapters include urban traffic control systems; algorithms and models for signal coordination; emerging technologies to enhance traffic signal coordination practices; control for short-distance intersections; and multi-day evaluation of adaptive traffic signal system based on license plate recognition detector data. A valuable resource for researchers and engineers working in the field of traffic information and control, and intelligent transport systems, Traffic Information and Control offers an overview of recent research and practical approaches to optimising traffic signal control.

Transportation engineers have used editions of the Highway Capacity Manual (HCM) in their analyses for decades. The HCM is the fundamental reference for concepts, performance measures, and analysis techniques for evaluating the multimodal operation of streets, highways, freeways, and off-street paths. This 3-volume 7th Edition contains new information, including new planning-level methods for connected and automated vehicles; a completely revised procedure for analyzing two-lane highways; a new procedure for evaluating systems of freeways and arterials with queue spillback; and updated methodologies for pedestrian operations at uncontrolled and signalized crossings.

The 7th Edition, 2018, commonly referred to as the Green Book, contains the current design research and practices for highway and street geometric design. This edition presents an updated framework for geometric design that is more flexible, multimodal, and performance-based than in the past. The document provides guidance to engineers and designers who strive to make unique design solutions that meet the needs of all highway and street users on a project-by-project basis. Not only are the traditional functional classifications for roadways (local roads and streets, collectors, arterials, and freeways) presented, but also an expanded set of context classifications (rural, rural town, suburban, urban, and urban core) to guide geometric design. The completely rewritten Chapter 1: A New Framework for Geometric Design, introduces the updated approach to design, with specific design guidance throughout each chapter.

Get a complete look into modern traffic engineering solutions Traffic Engineering Handbook, Seventh Edition is a newly revised text that builds upon the reputation as the go-to source of essential traffic engineering solutions that this book has maintained for the past 70 years. The updated content reflects changes in key industry standards, and shines a spotlight on the needs of all users, the design of context-sensitive roadways, and the development of more sustainable transportation solutions. Additionally, this resource features a new organizational structure that promotes a more functionally-driven, multimodal approach to planning, designing, and implementing transportation solutions. A branch of civil engineering, traffic engineering concerns the safe and efficient movement of people and goods along roadways. Traffic flow, road geometry, sidewalks, crosswalks, cycle facilities, shared lane markings, traffic signs, traffic lights, and more--all of these elements must be considered when designing public and private sector transportation solutions. Explore the fundamental concepts of traffic engineering as they relate to operation, design, and management Access updated content that reflects changes in key industry-leading resources, such as the Highway Capacity Manual (HCM), Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices (MUTCD), AASSHTO Policy on Geometric Design, Highway Safety Manual (HSM), and Americans with Disabilities Act Understand the current state of the traffic engineering field Leverage revised information that homes in on the key topics most relevant to traffic engineering in today's world, such as context-sensitive roadways and sustainable transportation solutions Traffic Engineering Handbook, Seventh Edition is an essential text for public and private sector transportation practitioners, transportation decision makers, public officials, and even upper-level undergraduate and graduate students who are studying transportation engineering.