Library Guides: IAS 150: Commodities and Cultures in the Making of the World Economy: Books

Ebooks

Proquest Ebook Central.Our largest e-book collection, with thousands of titles on a wide range of subjects. Find them in OskiCat (keyword ebrary) or search the ebrary website directly. Some advanced ebrary features require downloading reader software.

Cambridge Core Ebooks. Selection of current e-books from Cambridge University Press. We do not have access to all content.

DeGruyter Ebooks Complete. Includes all English language ebooks except those published in print only; also includes DeGruyter Archive 1759 - 1999

Elsevier Science Direct. Includes ebooks in economics, finance and econometrics.

JSTOR. Full-text access to scholarly journals and now books from a wide range of disciplines. Current issues from journals (the most recent 3-5 years) are generally not available in JSTOR.

MIT Press Direct Ebooks. Collection of MIT Press ebooks (not all books are included).

Oxford Scholarship Online. Cross-searchable library containing the full text of books in many subjects, including economics and finance from 2008 to present (not all listed content is accessible).

Project Muse. Hundreds of ebooks and journals articles in the social sciences and humanities.

Springer Electronic Book Package. Thousands of e-books the commercial publisher Springer. in several of the social sciences, including Business and Economics. Also includes Palgrave titles.

Finding Books on Commodities

The primary tool for finding books is Oskicat. You may also search Google Books to read some of the text before retrieving the item from the shelves. If you are not sure it is a good idea to start with a keyword search. Keep your initial search simple and then explore.

If you find an item you like click the subject heading to retrieve specific books for the commodity, for example the name of the commodity or its associated industries (such as trade or production). Remember to consider different usages and spellings of words over time and across countries (e.g. oil vs. petroleum).

Some sample subject searches include You may also use language limites and date sorting to help you refine your results. Often but not always University Press books are a good place to start.

Sugar trade -- West Indies -- History
Tea trade -- History
Chocolate industry -- History
Tobacco -- History
Coffee -- History
Coal trade -- Great Britain -- History
United Fruit Company -- History

Sample Sources

Below are some sample books owned by the library on commodities - note the cutesy titles. To find additional titles look at subject headings or do a search for the commodity name in Oskicat and limit to the Doe Reference collection.

Empire of Tea: The Remarkable History of the Plant that Took over the World
From the fourth century B.C. in China, where tea was used as an aid in meditation, to the Boston Tea Party as a symbol of the American Revolution, to its present-day role as the most consumed beverage on the planet, this book explores the effects of the humble Camelia plant both tragic and liberating, in history.
From Silver to Cocaine: Latin American commodity chains and the building of the world economy, 1500-2000
Demonstrating that globalization is a centuries-old phenomenon, From Silver to Cocaine examines the commodity chains that have connected producers in Latin America with consumers around the world for five hundred years..
River of Dark Dreams: Slavery and Empire in the Cotton Kingdom
Places the Cotton Kingdom at the center of worldwide webs of exchange and exploitation that extended across oceans and drove an insatiable hunger for new lands. This re-accounting alters our understanding of American slavery and its role in U.S. expansionism, global capitalism, and the upcoming Civil War.
Uncommon Grounds: The History of Coffee and How it Transformed our World
Tells the story of coffee from its discovery on a hill in Abyssinia to its role in intrigue in the American colonies to its rise as a national consumer product and its rediscovery with the advent of Starbucks. A panoramic epic, Uncommon Grounds uses coffee production, trade, and consumption as a window through which to view broad historical themes.
Chocolate, Women and Empire
From Charlie and the Chocolate Factory to Chocolat, from romantic gift to guilty indulgence, chocolate has a special place in Western popular culture. But what are the hidden histories behind this luxurious commodity? This book examines production from cocoa bean to chocolate box, illuminating the dynamics of gender, race and empire which have structured the cocoa chain.

Secondary menu

IAS 150: Commodities and Cultures in the Making of the World Economy: Books

Ebooks

Finding Books on Commodities

Sample Sources