Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

IAS 150: Commodities and Cultures in the Making of the World Economy: Articles

Political Economy Databases

EconLit. Most comprehensive index to scholarly journal articles in economics. It also lists books and dissertations, and articles in 'collective works' (collections of essays.)

Eldis.  Materials on development, policy, practice and research.  Thousands of full text documents free to download as well as resource guides and country profiles. 

IDEAS: Economics and Finance Research. Free bibliographic database on economics with citations to full-text working papers, books, book chapters, and journal articles.

JSTOR. Broad based digital library of academic journals and ebooks. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sites related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.  Indexes books, journals, and dissertations within the field of political science and related to international relations, law and politics, political economy, public administration, and public policy.

Project MUSE. Scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.

ProQuest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary metasearch of the Proquest social sciences databases. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), PAIS, Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

International Studies Databases

Africa-Wide Information.  A comprehensive database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, books and more on Africa. 

Almanhal. Books, journals, dissertations, and reports from the Arab world

Bibliography of Asian Studies. Citations to journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, of East, South, and Southeast Asia.

Chinese Studies Online. Full-text Chinese journal articles, conference papers, dissertations, legislation and law from the PRC, in a wide range of subject areas and dating from 1997 to the present.

Handbook of Latin American Studies. Indexes books, journals and proceedings on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars in humanities and social sciences.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Journals, books, chapters, and book reviews in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology from more than 100 countries. 

Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies. Combines sources from: School of Oriental & African Studies (SOAS) Library Catalog, Middle East Bibliography, Middle East Book Bibliographies, Theses & Dissertations and MECAS Citations Database.

RedAlyc. A collection of over 1200 open access scholarly journals covering all aspects of the humanities, social sciences, and sciences published by more than 500 institutions in 22 Ibero-American countries. 

SciELO: Scientific Electronic Library Online. Collection of open access scholarly online journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in the Global South, particularly Latin America and the Caribbean.

History

America: History and Life. Journals published on the history of the US and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes all key English-language historical journals; selected historical journals from major countries, and a selection of journals in the social sciences and humanities.

Bibliography of British and Irish History. Covers historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available.

Bibliography of Slavery and World Slavery. Searchable database of references to scholarly works in all disciplines and western European languages on slavery and slaving throughout the world.

Historical Abstracts. Indexes journals, as well as historical book reviews and dissertations, published worldwide about all aspects of world history (excluding US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. 

JSTOR. Includes scholarly journals with access to more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally the most recent 3-5 years) of the journals are not yet available.

Project MUSE.Topics include literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics and many others.