Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

IAS 150: Commodities and Cultures in the Making of the World Economy: Governments

US Government

ProQuest Congressional. One-stop shopping for U.S. congressional publications.  Provides indexing and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including full text of published Congressional Hearings, full text Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and more.

USA.gov.  Official United States Government web portal, with specialized “gateways” for citizens, business and government employees.

USAID Documents. Online resource for USAID international development, with thousands documents available for download. Database is browseable by country and by subject.

NonGovernmental Organizations (NGOs)

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) information on the Internet can be located using the following sources below. Please also see the UC Berkeley Library Research Guide on this topic.

NGO Custom Search Engine

Guide Star. Profiles, data and general information on Nonprofit organizations. Includes information on IRS-recognized tax-exempt organization and thousands of faith-based non-profits. Data provided by 990 forms, other IRS sources and by the nonprofits themselves.

Idealist.Org. Includes a directory organizations by name, mission, focus country and more.

Global Go To Think Tank Index Reports.  Annual Reports from an international survey of scholars, donors, policy makers, and journalists to rank think tanks.

TakingITGlobal. International non-profit centered on young people. Good source of NGO information by country and area of focus.

WANGO. Worldwide directory of Nongovernmental organizations searchable by country and area of interest.

International & Regional Financial Institutions

Asian Development Bank. Information on loans, investment, and technical assistance for a broad range of Asian development projects.

African Development Bank. Regional development Bank for Africa.  See also their flagship publication African Development Review.

Caribbean Development Bank. Regional financial and economic development institution for the Caribbean.

European Bank for Reconstruction and Development. Development bank to provide project financing for Eastern Europe and Central Asia.

InterAmerican Development Bank. Regional development bank focusing on economic development and technical cooperation projects for Latin America. See also IDB America.

Intergovernmental Group of Twenty-Four. Helps coordinate the positions on developing countries on international monetary and development finance issues.

International Monetary Fund 

  • IMF eLibrary. IMF periodicals, books, working papers, and data. Information  on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade, aid, policy, and more.
  • Article IV Staff Reports. Country "surveillance reports" conducted by IMF missions teams on an ongoing basis for all member states.
  • Country Information. Rich source of information by country: see especially the statistical appendices.
  • IMF Country Policy Intention Documents.  IMF documents prepared by countries outlining policy intentions.

Islamic Development Bank. Largest multilateral development institution in the Middle East, located in Saudi Arabia.

World Bank  

OECD iLibrary. Online library from the OECD,  an international organisation that specilizes in development assistance information. among other things.