Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Studies 150Q: Immigration and Multiculturalism in Asia: Find Articles

Migration Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS). Searches journal articles, books, and conference proceedings worldwide on the countries, histories, and cultures of East, South, and Southeast Asia.

Ethnic Newswatch.   Full text news resource focusing on ethnic and minority presses. Also includes academic journals with an ethnic focus.

Humanities International Complete. Indexes thousands of journals, books and other published sources from around the world, with full text of many journals in the humanities broadly defined.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS). Articles, books, chapters, and reviews in economics, political science, and other social sciences worldwide.

JSTOR. Over 1000 scholarly journals with more than 2 million articles. JSTOR is an archive which means that current issues (generally 3-5 years) are not yet available. 

Left Index.  A complete guide to the alternative, radical, and leftist literature, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship.

Migration Policy Institute. An independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide.

PAIS International. Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide.

Project Muse. Searchable full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mostly from North American university presses. 

ProQuest Social Sciences. Interdisciplinary database for the social sciences. Includes EconLit, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS), Sociological Abstracts, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and more.

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services 台灣電子期刊服務網More than 900 full-text periodicals published in Taiwan covering various subjects

Women's Studies International. Indexes books, journals, magazines, and other resources related to research and commentary on women and women's issues, feminism, and gender.

Selected Migration Journals

Asian Ethnicity.  Provides a cross-disciplinary, international venue for the publication of well-researched articles about ethnic groups and ethnic relations in Asia.

Asian and Pacific Migration Journal. Examines human mobility on the socio-demographic, economic, political, psychological, historical, legislative and religious aspects of human migration and refugee movements from and within Asia.

China Quarterly.  Leading scholarly journal in its field, covering all aspects of contemporary China including Taiwan. 

Diaspora: A Journal of Transnational StudiesDedicated to the multidisciplinary study of traditional diasporas and emerging transnational dispersions.

Forced Migration ReviewAnalyzes the causes and impacts of displacement, reflects the lived experience of displacement, and presents examples and recommendations for policy and action.

Global Networks: A Journal of Transnational Affairs.  Peer-reviewed research on global networks, transnational affairs, and their relation to wider theories of globalization.

International MigrationPolicy oriented journal on migration issues covering the entire field of policy relevance in international migration, with coverage of all regions of the world.

International Migration Review. Interdisciplinary journal studying the socio-demographic, historical, economic, political, legislative and pastoral aspects of human mobility. 

Journal of Asian Studies. Publishes empirical and multidisciplinary work on Asia with state-of-the-field essays on established and emerging topics.

Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies.  Research on all forms of migration, with articles on ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism, nationalism, citizenship and integration policy. 

Journal of International Migration and Integration. Multidisciplinary journal that publishes research and policy discussions on immigration, settlement and integration.

Pacific Affairs. Interdisciplinary journal focusing on important current political, economic and social issues throughout Asia and the Pacific.