Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Studies 150Q: Immigration and Multiculturalism in Asia: Governments & NGOs

Finding NonGovernmental Organizations

NGO Custom Search Engine


Think Tank Search Engine. From Harvard Kennedy School Library.

Idealist.Org. Includes a directory organizations by name, mission, focus country and more.

CGS PolicyArchive. Good resource for a range of full-text documents produced by think tanks (non-profit research organizations) in the United States.

Eldis: Migration. Information service providing free access to research on international development issues. Includes  summaries and links to research and policy documents.

PAIS International. Books, journals, government documents, research and conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues. 

Project Muse. Scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences, includes many publications from overseas institutes and think tanks.

Migration Study Centers

Asian Research Institute. Includes a cluster dedicated to the study of Asian Migration issues.

Centre fpr Global Development.  Works to reduce global poverty and improve lives through innovative economic research. Includes research on migration, displacement, and humanitarian policy.

Centre on Migration, Policy and Society (COMPAS). Conducts research to develop theory and knowledge, inform policy-making and public debate in the field of migration.

International Migration Institute (IMI). Part of the Oxford Department of International Development, advances the understanding of  forces driving migration processes.

Migration Policy Institute. An independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide.

Overseas Development Institute (ODI). Think tank on international development and humanitarian issues based in London

Pew Research Center: Immigration. Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world.

Refugees Studies Centre (RSC). Aims to build knowledge of the causes and effects of forced migration to improve the lives of the world’s most vulnerable.

International Government Organizations

The following directories and custom search engines may be used to locate development projects and interventions from International Development & Relief Organizations.

IGO Custom Search Engine

 


International Organization for Migration (IOM). Go to the publications section and search by country.

IOM Asia Pacific Region.  Regional country office, with branches for many countries in the region.

International Labour Organization & Labour Migration. Browse by region for report on country labor migration issues.

OECD iLibrary. Online library from the OECD, an international organization that includes Japan and South Korea.

United Nations Population Division. Assists the Department of Economic and Social Affairs in discharging its functions as member of the Global Migration Group.

World Bank Open Knowledge Repository. Free open access portal to World Bank publications.