Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Studies 150Q: Immigration and Multiculturalism in Asia: Statistics

International Statistics and Data

CEIC Global DatabaseProvides detailed data for 121 countries, including Demographics and Labor Markets, Economic & Household Surveys, Tourism and Trade. Sources include International Organizations and National Statistics Offices.

China Rural Household Survey. Includes migration data.

China Statistical Yearbooks Database 中国经济社会发展统计数据库. Includes migration data at various levels of geography - search by variable not yearbook title.

EPS China. Comprehensive collection of data on China. It provides yearly, quarterly and monthly data for indicators covering national, county and city statistics

Global Bilateral Migration DatabaseGlobal matrices of bilateral migrant stocks spanning the period 1960-2000, disaggregated by gender and based primarily on the foreign-born concept, from the World Bank. 

Indiastat. Statistical data from Indian government and private sources: finance, agriculture, health, housing, transportation, and many other areas. User id and password required: contact any library reference desk for assistance.

Internal Displacement Monitoring Centre (IDMC). Global internally displaced person figures based on IDMC's monitoring of internal displacement caused by conflict, generalized violence, human rights violations and natural hazard-induced disasters.

International Labour Organization (ILO), Migrant Worker Statistics. Labor statistics, to develop international standards for better measurement of labour issues and enhanced international comparability.

Korean Statistics Portal. Bilingual but significantly more data is available in the Korean Language.

Migration Data Hub/Migration Policy Institute.  Authoritative data and analysis of international migration and refugee trends. Includes estimates of undocumented aliens and Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) in the United States by state.

Minorities at Risk Project. University-based research project that monitors and analyzes the status and conflicts of politically-active communal groups in all countries with a current population of at least 500,000

OECD Migration Databases. Migration data for Korea and Japan (OECD Countries).

Taiwan National Immigration Agency: Foreign Residents by NationalityDetailed data by national origin of migrants and place of residence in Taiwan. 

World Bank Migration and Remittances Data. Inflows and outflows of remittances data (country of origin and destination),

United Nations Global Migration Database.  Sex and age distribution of international migrants worldwide, changes in the international migrant stock over time for countries of origin or age groups and quantification and monitoring of vulnerable groups in need of special protection.