Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Online Resources
"Écritures de la contestation. La littérature des années 68"
Under the direction of Jean-François Hamel et Julien Lefort-Favreau, this issue of Études françaises 5:1 (2018) revisits May '68 through its literature.
Events of May 1968 (Brittanica.com)
Brief overview in English by Richard Wolin, intellectual historian at CUNY Graduate Center.
Événements de mai 1968 (Larousse.fr)
Encyclopedia entry (in French) providing a succinct historical overview of the May 68 events in France. Includes some media content such as posters and videos.
Esprit(s) de mai 68 (BnF)
Online exhibition of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France commemorating the 50th anniversary through graphic design and political lexicon.
Mai 68 de Véronique Filozof
Illustrated book, published in 1969, chronicling the Paris events by Swiss artist Véronique Filozof now available online on a site devoted to her work.
Mai 68 en France (Science Po)
Another good bibliography of works (in French) surrounding May 68, prepared by librarians at Science Po in Paris. The works cited include many of the canonical historical and critical treaties on May 68. Unfortunately, the list only includes works published up to 2008.
Mai 68: ressources documentaires (Sciences Po-Lyon)
Extensive bibliography of academic articles, press articles, books, dissertations, and videos. It offers some links for online access which are not actually available for non-SciencesPo-Lyon IP addresses. However, bibliographical information is very clear, so one may easily access the signaled material through UC libraries.
"May '68: New Approaches, New Perspectives"
Six-part forum published in French Historical Studies 51: 2 (April 1, 2018).
The May Events Archive / événements de mai 1968
Selection of digitized documents -- original leaflets, magazines, and newspapers from Simon Fraser University.
Paris Student Revolt Collection (UCR)
Finding aid to the Paris Student Revolt Collection at the University of California Irvine. Items cannot be accessed online, but for those who may be able to access the physical material, this is a potentially useful source of primary materials.
Slogans de Mai 68 (LeMonde.fr)
Documents some 158 political slogans from May '68.