It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UC Berkeley’s library buildings are open! Learn more.
May '68 documented in the press and other publications
Newspapers, magazines, and journals of the era serve as rich primary sources for understanding the complexities of May '68. The UC Berkeley Library has in its collection a few of these such as L'enragé and Interluttes while others can be accessed online. The May Events Archive at Simon Fraser University with its digitized booklets, pamphlets, magazines, and newspapers from the epoch is one such place. Caroline Hoctan's Mai 68 en revues is an incredible reference tool for identifying journals and magazines.
UC Berkeley Library students, faculty, and other researchers have liberal access to these rich source materials through interlibrary loan, electronic delivery, and a growing collection of digitized material.
A newspaper digital archive offering full-text and full-image articles for significant US newspapers. Our subscription includes access to Chicago Defender (1910-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1990); Los Angeles Times (1881-1990); The New York Times (1851-2010) with Index (1851-1993); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996); and The Washington Post (1877-1997).
Indexes newspapers covering all aspects of British life and world affairs in the 19th and 20th centuries. Contains four major historical resources: Palmer's Index to the Times which covers The Times (London, 1790-1905); The Official Index to the Times (1906-1980); The Historical Index to the New York Times (1863- 1922); and Palmer's Full Text Online (1785-1870).
A database of more than 20,000 newspaper titles from over 150 countries dating back over 350 years. A useful source for identifying the titles of newspapers from a region during a given time period. (The source does not link to full text.)
Le Monde diplomatique stands out in an increasingly uniform media landscape for its critical vision, in-depth analysis of world issues and reportages that illuminate the state of the planet. In 1996, it won editorial and financial independence by forming its own company. Le Monde owns 51%; the Friends of Le Monde diplomatique and Gunter Holzmann Association, comprising the paper’s staff, together own 49%.