STEM Education & Outreach: Know Your Community and Advocate!

Quickly get recent state, county, city, and town demographics (including age, race/ethnicity, income/employment, residence, and more - a huge amount of statistics) and business information.

Data on school enrollment, non-English language learners, free lunch numbers, teacher and staff data, class size, revenue sources and amounts, and much more. Includes access to Ed-Data: timely and comprehensive data about K–12 education in California.

The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Incldues survey data (Beginning Postsecondary Students Longitudinal Study; High School & Beyond study; etc.); Career & Technical Education; Effective Practices Conferences; and much more.

Information from the Migration Policy Institute about unauthorized immigrants in the United States: residence; arrival dates and countries of origin, education, employment, income, parental and marital status, health care coverage, and more, as well as potential eligibility for relief from deportation via deferred action.

Tracks the well-being of children in the United States. Data is provided nationally and state-by-state. You can generate custom graphs, maps, ranked lists, and state-by-state profiles. Also, download the entire Kids Count data set as delimited text files. Indicators include: Infant mortality & child deaths, juvenile arrests, low birth weight, immunizations, children in poverty, education, and more.

Has data on more than 400 measures of child health and well being. Data are available for every legislative district, city, county, and school district in California. Search by region, demographic group, or topic.

Includes vital health factors, including access to exercise opportunities, access to healthy foods, food insecurity, income, obesity, physical inactivity, poverty, and smoking in nearly every county in America. National & state data download: csv (national also SAS). Has resources to take action: database of evidence-informed policies and programs, guides and tools to move forward, and information on how to build partnerships.

Information on College and Career Readiness, Standards and Assessment, Higher Education, and more. Includes the Education Legislation/Bill Tracking Database. NCSL has similar resources on topics such as criminal justice, health, environment, and more.

The NASBE State School Health Policy Database is a comprehensive set of laws and policies from 50 states on more than 40 school health topics. From the National Association of State Boards of Education.

990 Finder provides access to the most recent Forms 990 and 990-PF filed by nonprofit organizations with the Internal Revenue Service. (Form 990 provides the public with financial information about a nonprofit organization. It is often the only source of such information).

This toolkit provides resources to support community members working against injustice in its many forms. Includes: Seeking Enforcement of Existing Laws or Policies; Organizing Public Demonstrations; Organizing a Boycott; and much more. From Community Tool Box.