Library Guides: Resources at the UC Berkeley Library for STEM Education & Outreach: Find Articles +

ERIC Database: The Education Resources Information Center

ERIC This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include all levels of education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. [1966 - present]
Indexes books, journals, reports, proceedings, statistical data, tests, dissertations, audiovisual materials, and ERIC documents on education research and practice.

ERIC
Topics covered include all levels of education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. [1966 - present]

Use this article for the ERIC exercise:
Evaluating a science diversity program at UC Berkeley: more questions than answers.
Matsui J, Liu R, Kane CM.
Cell Biol Educ. 2003 Summer;2(2):117-21.

-------------------------------------------------------------

ERIC has many features to help refine your search:

Search by education level (Adult education, Early childhood education, Elementary education, Grade 1, Grade 2, etc.)
Search by target audience (Administrators, Teachers, Students, Policymakers, Practitioners, etc.)
Search by document type (Article, Classroom guides for teachers, classroom guides for learners, Tests/questionnaires, etc.)
Use the ERIC Thesaurus to find subject terms for a more precise search
Use "quotation marks" to search for an exact phrase: "systematic review"
Use an asterisk* to truncate: educat* finds educate, education, educator, etc.

More ERIC help and information is available here:
guides.lib.berkeley.edu/education/ERIC

Search Strategies

When searching databases for research, if you get too many search results, try adding:

Type of person
- Example: AND latino* OR latina* OR latinx OR "hispanic american" OR "latin american" OR mexican american" OR ... (etc.)
- Example: AND teen* OR adolescen* OR youth
Type of article
- Example: AND "systematic review"
Geography
- Example: AND usa OR "united states" OR (america* NOT (latin OR central OR south))
Or search by title words (instead of keywords)

and so on.

More Databases for Researching STEM Education

Databases with the key icon are UCB Access only. Those without the open lock icon are freely available.

Find the full text via

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
Education Source (formerly Education Full Text ) This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text education research, including an international array of English-language periodicals, books, yearbooks, and more. (Education Index) [1929 - present]
Indexes articles from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere on all topics related to education.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

GreenFILE
Citations on environmental sciences: ecology, environmental health, environmental planning, environmental chemistry, and related disciplines

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).

UC Berkeley provides access to over 1300 databases on all subjects.

Once at this list, you can limit by:
» subject (Biological Sciences, Engineering, etc.), or by
» type (articles, news, videos, etc.)

Find Books, Reports, etc.@ UCB

Use the UCB/UC Library catalog, UC Library Search, to find books, reports, dissertations, video, articles, and more. The UCB Library alone has over 12 million volumes, plus millions of online items!

UC Library Search:

Find books, films, maps, archival materials, dissertations, and more in the UCB Libraries
Search using keywords (including author names, titles, subjects, etc.)
Limit by date, language, publication format, etc.
Limit to items available online
See if the book you want is already checked out
Save and email search results
View what you have checked out and renew online
Request items checked out by someone else

Information on using the library, including library cards for non-UCB folks

Find Books, Reports, etc. Online

Internet search engines (eg Google) are good for finding grey literature (government/NGO reports, technical reports, etc.).

Search smartly:
Quotes for phrase searching:
"STEM education"
Site: to specify a particular site or domain:
"STEM education" site:.org (for a domain search)
"STEM education" site:berkeley.edu (for a specific site search)
Boolean search statements (eg, OR):
("STEM education" OR "STEM outreach")

Other sources of grey literature include:

Policy Commons
Requires free registration. Search engine for "fact-based research from the world’s leading policy experts, think tanks, IGOs and NGOs." Advanced search includes geography, language, and document type options.
Think Tank Search (Harvard)
Think Tank Search will search the websites of over 1200 think tanks, research centers, and NGOs.
OpenGrey
Access to bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe. Allows you to export records and locate the documents. OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.

NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) This link opens in a new window
Citations and some full text for technical reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and other government agencies.
NTRL is the gateway to indexes, abstracts, and technical reports of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). The NTIS archives reports from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and others.

Newspapers and News Sources: Selected Major Dailies

Current/recent issues:

Historic/past issues:

Secondary menu