Skip to main content

You can still access the UC Berkeley Library’s services and resources during the closure. Here’s how.

Global Studies 102 Honors: Scope and Methods of Research: Government Info

Search Engines & Directories

Non-Governmental Organization (NGO) information on the Internet can be located using the following directories and the NGO search engine below.

NGO Custom Search Engine


Foundations Directory. Funding sources for non-profit grant providers. Includes U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and public charities.

Gale Directory Library. Directories of organizations (including the Encyclopedia of Associations & National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations) with statistics.

Guide Star. Profiles, data and general information on Nonprofit organizations. Includes information on IRS-recognized tax-exempt organization and thousands of faith-based non-profits. Data provided by 990 forms, other IRS sources and by the nonprofits themselves.

Idealist.Org. Includes a directory organizations by name, mission, focus country and more.

Global Go To Think Tank Index Reports.  Annual Reports from an international survey of scholars, donors, policy makers, and journalists to rank think tanks.

TakingITGlobal. International non-profit centered on young people. Good source of NGO information by country and area of focus.

WANGOWorldwide directory of Nongovernmental organizations searchable by country and area of interest.

United States Government

Govscan. Google Custom search engine that searches state and  local government websites. Search the entire web site or limit by state.

DDRS (Declassified Documents Reference System). Documents declassified via the Freedom of Information Act and regular declassification requests. 

Digital National Security Archive. Declassified documents spanning fifty years of US national security policy. Also includes a chronology, events, terms, and a bibliography for collections developed around a specific event, controversy, or policy decision.

Homeland Security Digital Library. Records for documents on homeland security strategy, policy and research published by international, federal, state and local government agencies as well as research institutions, universities and think tanks. 

ProQuest Congressional. Provides indexing and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including full text of published Congressional Hearings, full text Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and more.

Regional Development Banks

Regional economic and financial institutions play an important role in the world economy. For more exhaustive information please see the UC Berkeley Library Research Guide on International Economic Organizations.

African Development Bank
Asian Development Bank
European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
Inter-American Development Bank
Islamic Development Bank

International Development Organizations

The following directories and custom search engines may be used to locate development projects and interventions from International Development & Relief Organizations.

IGO Custom Search Engine

 


Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN.  Organization working to eradicate hunger, food insecurity and poverty, and the sustainable use of land, water, air, climate & genetic resources.

IMF ​Elibrary.  Library of IMF publications and statistics, including Key IMF statistical titles.

OECD iLibrary. Online library from the OECD,an international organization that specializes in development assistance information.

World Bank

United Nations

United Nation's Children's Fund.  See also their Innocenti Research Office for publications and databases addressing children and development.

United Nations Development Group.  Unites the 32 UN funds, programmes, agencies, departments, and offices that play a role in development.  Led by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

UNDP Human Development Report Library. The web site includes the UNDP flagship publication the Human Development Report, as well as national reports from countries and regions.

United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD). United Nations body promoting the integration of developing countries into the world economy. 

United Nations Economic and Social Council. The United Nations Economic and Social Council is the UN principal organ for coordination of economic work of the five regional economic commissions, listed below.

UN Habitat. United Nations agency for human settlements mandated by the UN General Assembly to promote socially and environmentally sustainable towns and cities with the goal of providing adequate shelter for all.

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO). United Nations agency mandated to promote industrial development and international industrial cooperation.

United Nations Research Institute for Social Development (UNRISD). UN agency conducting research on the social dimensions of world development. Includes hundreds of documents on a wide range of social development issues.

UN Women. United Nations entity working for the empowerment of women and girls.

World Food Programme. The food aid agency of the United Nations and largest provider of food aid in the world.