Fake news may seem like a joke but it is a real problem - see Facebook's fake news problem in one chart. "Real news" is written by professional journalists who adhere to ethical guidelines for gathering and writing the news. The library has created a research guide that helps you to both evaluate news and also detect fake or suspicious sources. For more information on our newspaper sources see the complete collection in our electronic resource database.
The Media Resources Center (MRC) is the UC Berkeley Library's primary collection of materials in audio and visual formats. These formats include videocassettes, DVDs, compact audio discs, audiocassettes, and online (streamed) audio and video.
See the MRC's website for a very detailed listing of films in their collection, by topic; this is a great resource for American/cultural studies, gender studies, ethnic studies, dance and performance studies, and many other subjects. Click on Collections to start browsing.
The Media Resources Center is located on the 1st floor (basement) of Moffitt Library but has shorter hours of operation than Moffitt. You can view MRC materials in the MRC viewing rooms, but the materials cannot be checked out.
Access World News. News from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage for California.
Alt-Press Watch (APW). Alternative, radical, and independent magazines, newspapers, and journals in North America.
The Economist. General interest news about current trends in business, politics and economics worldwide. Locations for print magazine can be found via Oskicat. For historical issues see the Economist Historical Archive which provides access from 1843.
Ethnic News Watch (ENWH). Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) database of newspapers, magazines and journals from ethnic, minority and native presses.
Factiva. General and business news from sources in 22 languages, including local, national and international news. Includes The Wall Street Journal, the Financial Times, and Dow Jones.
Financial Times. Access to the Financial Times from January 1998 to present. For historical access see the Financial Times Historical Archive which has the complete run of the daily Financial Times from 1888 to recent years.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service. Includes radio and television broadcasts, newspapers and periodicals, government statements, books, and other sources of unrestricted information from non-English sources around the world, from 1941-1996.
International Newsstream. Articles from hundreds of newspapers worldwide, plus reports from media monitoring organizations which include wire services. Content is displayed in ASCII format.
Meet the Press. Includes the full surviving run of this institution of American broadcast journalism from the premiere in 1947 to 2013, with thousands of interviews, panels, and debates
Nexis Uni. Full-text source for urrent affairs, legal information and news appearing in newspapers, journals, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, reference works and other documents.
Access World News. Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources. Offers strong regional coverage for California newspapers.
All Africa.Com. Contains over 700,000 articles from 120 news publications throughout Africa.
Africa-Wide Information. Database covering journals, magazines, newspapers, broadcasts, and more on Africa including politics, history, economics, literature, music and natural sciences
Arab News Database. Provides full text access to the news from 65 renowned Arabic dailies and weeklies in over 20 countries, from 1970s to present.
Asahi Kikuzo II. A full text database of Asahi Shinbun, one of the two major newspapers in Japan, from the inaugural issue in 1879 to present.
Factiva. General and business news and information from sources in 22 languages, including local, national and international newspapers, business magazines, trade publications, and wires.
Financial Times. Access to the Financial Times from January 1998 to present. For historical access see the Financial Times Historical Archive which has the complete run of the daily Financial Times from 1888 through 2006.
International Newstream. Articles from hundreds of newspapers worldwide, plus reports from media monitoring organizations which include broadcast and wire service content.
International Coalition of Newspapers. A database of more than 20,000 newspaper titles from over 150 countries dating back over 350 years. A useful source for identifying the titles of newspapers from a region during a given time period.
ISLA Information Services. Comprehensive overview of U.S. and British media coverage of Latin America and the Caribbean.
Japan Times Archives. Offers access to nearly 500,000 pages of English-language articles published in the Japan Times newspaper since the first issue in March 1897. [1897-2014].
Latin America Advisor. Online news service published by the Inter-American Dialogue.
New American Media. News coverage from a national network of ethnic media outlets. Founded by Pacific News Service, NAM is a collaboration of and advocate for ethnic news organizations.
Nexis Uni. Full-text source for business, current affairs, legal information, medical information and news appearing in newspapers, journals, newsletters, broadcast transcripts, reference works and other documents.
People's Daily. A complete archive of the People's Daily, the leading newspaper in China. Provides a complete archive of the People's Daily, the leading newspaper in China, from the birth of the People's Republic of China to 2002.
Pravda Digital Archive. Full text and full image coverage of Pravda beginning in 1912 to the present. Searchable in Russian Cyrillic or transliteration.
Radio Free Europe. Free news source (with archives) covering Russia, Transcaucases, Central Asia and Eastern Europe.
The Times of India. Historical newspaper with articles in colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender, international relations, comparative religion, economics and more.
Wise News. Hundreds of newspapers from mainland China, Hong Kong, Taiwan and other Asian countries. In Chinese and English. Limited to five simultaneous users.
UDNData. A newspaper database of the United Daily News Group, the largest news group in Taiwan. Provides current, full-text articles for seven Chinese newspapers in Taiwan
Yomidasu Rekishikan ヨミダス歴史館. Full text access to Yomiuri shibun 読売新聞 (1874-present) and Daily Yomiuri (1989-2013)/Japan News