Library Guides: Biology and Geomorphology of Tropical Islands IB C158L / ESPM C107: Articles

Top Research Databases

Use one or more of these databases to find articles, conference proceedings, reports, and other materials relevant to your research. If you are unsure which databases to use, please ask your librarian.

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Find citations for journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and government publications in the agricultural and environmental sciences. [1960 - present].
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Citations for journal articles, conference papers, and books on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. [1926 - present]
Indexes journals, books, and conference proceedings are indexed on a wide variety of biological and biomedical topics. An electronic version to the print counterparts, Biological Abstracts and Biological Abstracts/RRM.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals, books, maps, US and Canadian dissertations, conference proceedings, reports, and government documents published worldwide on geology and other subjects within the geosciences. [1785 - present]
Includes all publications of the USGS. Database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search across many disciplines and sources including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Lists journal articles, books, preprints, and technical reports in many subject areas (though more specialized article databases may cover any given field more completely). Can be used with "Get it at UC" to access the full text of many articles.

Use these instructions to set up access to full-text via UCB subscriptions.

PAIS International This link opens in a new window
Indexes books, journals, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and web sources related to public policy, politics, economics, and social issues worldwide. (Public Affairs Information Service) [1915 - present]
Includes publications from over 120 countries. Some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The Archive covers English-language material only.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.

Guides to PubMed: See the PubMed Guide to learn how to use PubMed most effectively.

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching. (ISI Web of Knowledge) [1900 - present]
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Zoological Record Archive This link opens in a new window
1864-2023. Zoological Record is a database of animal biology with coverage beginning in 1864. It's considered a leading taxonomic reference source and unofficial register of animal names.

Other Databases
There are many more databases available at UCB. Find an appropriate database by subject or type.

And here's a friendly reminder:

Conditions of Use for Electronic Reources

Find Journals and Full Text

Use Journal Search to find online or print access to a particular journal.
To find full text when searching in an article database, look for links:
To find full text from a citation, paste the citation into the search box in UC Library Search.

Review and Tips

Scientific Literature
Material from Bio 1B covering primary literature, literature reviews, peer review, etc.
What is Peer Review?
Peer Review in 3 Minutes (Video)
Searching by topic
Material from Bio 1B on how to find articles on a topic. Includes choosing keywords, broadening a search (truncation, etc.), narrowing a search, and more.

Search Operators and Tips

Finding full text
Material from Bio 1B on finding the full text of articles.

Secondary menu

Biology and Geomorphology of Tropical Islands IB C158L / ESPM C107: Articles

Top Research Databases

Find Journals and Full Text

Review and Tips