Library Guides: eBooks in Natural Resources, Health, Medicine & the Biological Sciences: eBook Collections / Reference Works

eBook collections

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to dozens of current medical textbooks in numerous specialty areas, procedural and other videos, a differential diagnosis tool, practice guidelines, cases, patient education materials, and more.
AccessNeurology This link opens in a new window
Textbooks, images and videos for neurology and related areas. (Access Medicine Neurology)
Includes the subject areas of basic neurology, neuroanatomy, neuroscience, ophthalmology, movement disorders, EEG monitoring, clinical examination, and pediatric care.
ACSESS Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Ebooks, journals, trade magazines, news, and more from The Alliance of Crop, Soil, and Environmental Science Societies.
ACSESS was created by and is composed of the American Society of Agronomy, the Crop Science Society of America, and the Soil Science Society of America.

American Society for Microbiology ebooks
Selected titles.

APA e-book collection This link opens in a new window
E-books published by the American Psychological Association. [2009 - present ]
Individual e-book titles are also listed in the library catalog.
Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) offers literature on biodiversity through open access as part of a global “biodiversity commons.” The BHL has digitized taxonomic literature, representing tens of thousands of titles and >100,000 volumes.
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” Founded in 2005, it is a cornerstone organization of the Encyclopedia of Life.
CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
Ebooks on agriculture and the applied life sciences from CAB International. [2000-present].
This collection is divided into six subject areas: Agriculture; Animal & Veterinary Sciences; Human Health & Nutrition; Plant Sciences; Environmental Science; and Leisure & Tourism.
Cambridge Higher Education This link opens in a new window
A collection of approximately 1200 etextbooks and ebooks in many subjects.
Titles can be accessed online through the Cambridge Higher Education website, or through the free downloadable Spiral eReader app for offline reading. Online users have full reading access and text-to-speech capability where available. Setting up a personal CHE account is necessary to make use of Spiral eReader functions such as saving your reading progress, adding bookmarks, adding and exporting notes, highlighting text, adding links, offline reading on desktop or mobile device, and printing or copying up to 20% of the text.
License term: 4/1/2024-12/31/2025, although our subscription includes textbooks published before the beginning of the license term.

Accessing course texts on the Cambridge Higher Education platform

Cold Spring Harbor Monograph Archive This link opens in a new window
Scholarly monographs covering the areas of molecular, cell, and developmental biology, genetics, evolutionary biology, neuroscience, cancer biology, and molecular pathology. (1970 - 2009)
A collection of 53 full-text scholarly monographs published by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory Press.
Current Protocols This link opens in a new window
Experimental procedures in bioinformatics, cell biology, genetics, molecular biology, neuroscience, toxicology, and other research areas. Click "Journals" at the top of the page to see a full list of titles.
Provides access to Current Protocols in Bioinformatics, Control Protocols in Field Analytical Chemistry, and others in the Current Protocols series.

DCP3 Volumes (Disease Control Priorities Network)
Includes:
- Essential Surgery
- Reproductive, Maternal, Newborn, and Child Health
- Cancer
- Mental, Neurological, and Substance Use Disorders
- Cardiovascular, Respiratory, and Related Disorders
- Major Infectious Diseases
- Injury Prevention and Environmental Health
- Child and Adolescent Health and Development
- Disease Control Priorities

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
A digital repository providing long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. (Hathi Trust)
Pronounced "hah-tee", this cooperative system contains millions of books scanned from UC and other major research libraries, including those digitized by Google and the Internet Archive. Search on information about the book (such as author or title), or words in the text. Full text is available for items that are not protected by copyright. Anyone can view public domain materials but to download a .pdf to a laptop or flash-drive, users need a login/password which is their CalnetID/password. Items in the HathiTrust catalog can be grouped into collections and shared online. For details, see the FAQ page.
Knovel This link opens in a new window
Find technical information as well as analytical and search tools for the engineering community.
Collection of over 8000 engineering and scientific reference handbooks, texts, and databases. Can be searched by topic across the aggregated set, or users can browse the content of a specific title. Advanced features include numerical range searching and interactive graphs and tables.
National Academies Press This link opens in a new window
Publishes reports by the National Academy of Sciences on science and science policy. Topics include agriculture, biology, computers, energy, the environment, engineering, food, medicine and health, space, social sciences, transportation, and more.
Includes more than 3000 free, online books. NAP publishes over 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health.
NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Provides free access to books and documents in medicine and the life sciences.
Contains over 1000 books
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Publications and data are open access since July 2024.
OECD publications are also Open Access on the OECD web site under "publications". Statistical data is also available at the new OECD data explorer https://data-explorer.oecd.org/
Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, and socioeconomic datasets and an interactive Health data database. The statistics section includes data in the areas of international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories. Includes data from 1983 to the present. (source oecd)
O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Full text ebooks and computer manuals published by O'Reilly, including GIS and statistical application (R, SPSS, Stata, SAS).
Includes content from O'Reilly, Addison-Wesley, HarperCollins, Manning, New Riders, Pearson, Prentice Hall, and other technical and business publishers. Includes over 30,000 hours of instructional video content.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A database containing hundreds of e-books published by Oxford University Press in the areas of Biology, Business and Management, Economics and Finance, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Politics , Psychology, Public Health, Religion, and Mathematics.
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 750 books and at least 200 new and recently-published books are added each year. [Please note: There are several other modules to this resource; the Library subscribes only to modules listed above.]
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook platform with access to hundreds academic publishers with books on many topics. The individual ebooks in this collection are also listed in the library catalog.
A database of more than 77,000 complete e-books covering 16 key subject areas including: business and economics, computers and IT, literature and linguistics, history, political science, and more. These ebooks are also listed in the library catalog.

ProQuest Ebook Central Help Guide

Royal Society of Chemistry eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
Chemical science books published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
ScienceDirect eBooks This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary collection of academic ebooks, encyclopedias, handbooks, and more with an emphasis in the sciences.
Springer Electronic Book Package This link opens in a new window
Full-text Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences.
Includes nearly 20,000 Springer e-books from every scientific discipline and many social sciences, including Architecture and Design, Behavioral Science/Psychology, Biomedical and Life Sciences, Business and Economics, Chemistry and Materials Science, Computer Science, and more.
Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window
Collection of books and handbooks in bioscience, engineering, environmental sciences, mathematics, physics, statistics, social sciences, and other fields from Taylor & Francis including their CRC Press and Routledge imprints. Formerly ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, and similar collections.

U.S. Surgeon General's Reports & Publications
Reports going back to 1964 on topics such as smoking, violence, nutrition, HIV/AIDS, and more.

Water Intelligence Online This link opens in a new window
Digital reference library from the International Water Association.
Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection of resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. Includes articles, ebooks, reference works, and laboratory protocols and databases.
Exclusions to the collection are textbooks and major reference works.

Reference eBooks

APA e-book collection This link opens in a new window
E-books published by the American Psychological Association. [2009 - present ]
Individual e-book titles are also listed in the library catalog.
eLS : Citable Reviews in the Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
"eLS features over 5,000 commissioned, peer-reviewed, citable articles, written by leaders in the life sciences.
eLS is updated by approximately 400 articles per year, with new articles publishing on a monthly basis."(ELS: Citable Reviews)
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition (4th ed.) This link opens in a new window
Reference work containing information on the foundations of nutrition science, integrating food, nutrition science, and clinical nutrition.
Topics include: biology and functions of vitamins and other essential nutrients; links between diet and health effects, including diseases of nutritional etiology; genetic and molecular aspects of nutrient-health interrelationships; nutrigenomics, metabolomics and the microbiome.
Encyclopedia of Life This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an online collaborative encyclopedia intended to document all of the 1.9 million living species known to science. It is compiled from databases and from contributions by experts and non-experts throughout the world.
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) aims to build one "infinitely expandable" page for each species, including video, sound, images, graphics, as well as text. In addition, the Encyclopedia incorporates content from the Biodiversity Heritage Library, which digitizes printed literature from the world's major natural history libraries.
Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources.
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources. Titles include: the History of Dispute series, Encyclopedia of Modern China, Encyclopedia of Religion, the Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography and many more resources. (Formerly titled Gale Virtual Reference Library)

International Classification of Diseases (ICD-10)
Standard diagnostic tool for epidemiology, health management, and clinical purposes, including analysis of the general health situation of population groups. It is used to monitor the incidence and prevalence of diseases and other health problems.
International Classification of Diseases. Clinical Modification (ICD-10 CM)
NCHS is responsible for use of the International Statistical Classification of Diseases and Related Health Problems in the United States. It has developed a clinical modification of the classification for morbidity purposes. The ICD-10 is used to code and classify mortality data from death certificates.

Nutrition Care Manual (NCM) This link opens in a new window
Nutrition information and clinical tools for health care professionals. Includes nutrition care for specific conditions; nutrition calculators; supplement formulary; client education materials and sample menus; and additional resources. (ADA Nutrition Care Manual)
Provides research-based nutrition information and clinical tools. Provides nutrition care processes for specific diseases; nutrition calculators; nutrition therapy foods and sample menus; and more.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Contains detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources. NOTE: Some off-campus users have reported issues when accessing OED with Chrome. Patrons are encouraged to use other browsers.
The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language. Entries contain detailed etymological analyses that trace word development through time and are illustrated by quotations from a wide range of English-language sources.
Oxford Textbook of Medicine This link opens in a new window
International textbook covering scientific aspects and clinical practice of internal medicine and its subspecialties.
6th edition of this international textbook that covers scientific aspects and clinical practice of internal medicine and its subspecialties.
PsychiatryOnline (including DSM-5) This link opens in a new window
Features The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of this collection of psychiatric reference books and journals from American Psychiatric Publishing.
Contains the American Psychiatric Association's DSM-5 Online (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders), the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world, as well as several full-text psychiatry journals, textbooks, and practice guidelines.

ScienceDirect Reference eBooks
Includes encyclopedias on food, health, nutrition, genetics, health economics, and more.

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library

Questions? Ask a librarian!

The Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library:

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

Off-campus access is limited to current UC Berkeley faculty, staff and students. Choose one of the following methods:

Library Proxy (aka EZproxy):
When you click on a link to an article, database, etc., from a library web page. you will be prompted to authenticate via CalNet.
If you click on an article (etc.) link found via a search engine or a non-UCB Library webpage, you should use this bookmarklet to access the licensed resource.

Virtual Private Network (VPN):
Download and install the VPN client to allow access the UC Berkeley licensed resources.
Make sure you select Library Access - Full Tunnel VPN when you log on.
VPN FAQ

Students: Problems setting up Library Proxy or VPN? Contact your librarian, or Student Technology Services: (510) 642-HELP, or sts-help@berkeley.edu.

Secondary menu

eBooks in Natural Resources, Health, Medicine & the Biological Sciences: eBook Collections / Reference Works

eBook collections

Reference eBooks

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library

Off Campus Access to Library Resources