Library Guides: Federal &amp; State Health Agencies and Resources: Federal Legislative & Regulatory Resources

Federal

Environmental Laws & Regulations (EPA)
Includes Clean Air Act, National Environmental Policy Act, and more.
GovTrack
Track legislation being debated in the United States Congress.
govinfo
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal research tool including access to the pdf full-text of complete runs of many legal journals, US statutes, codes, and congressional and executive documents, Supreme Court Library, state session laws and state statutes, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, and many historical and international legal resources. The database is continually adding resources and expanding existing resources. Courtesy of Berkeley Law Library.
Provides full text to the early issues of many legal journals and law reviews, the Federal Register (1936-six months ago), US Supreme Court Library (1754-present) and treaties and agreements.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text access for publications of the United States Congress such as hearings, committee reports and prints, CRS reports, as well as executive branch documents. (Congressional Publications) [dates vary]
One stop shopping for all U.S. congressional publications. Provides indexing and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including the full-text of published Congressional Hearings (1824-present; unpublished hearings until 1979), Committee Prints (1817-present), Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports (1916-present), Congressional Record and its predecessor titles (1789-present), U.S. Congressional Serial Set and Maps (1789-present), Executive Branch Documents (1789-1932), Presidential Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations (1789-present), and Legislative Histories (1969-Present; earlier legislative histories are available via ProQuest's Legislative Insight).
ProQuest Regulatory Insight This link opens in a new window
Contains administrative law histories organized by public law. Provides search capability to facilitate research into U.S. regulatory history. Database is partially built and will be complete in early 2018. [1936-2016]

Federal Science Bill Tracker
Up-to-date information on recent authorization bills in Congress relevant to the physical sciences. Includes links to the bills, and one can view bills relevant to various agencies (NIH, DOE, etc.). From the American Institute of Physics.
Federal Science Budget Tracker
Provides up-to-date information on the status of budgets and appropriations relevant to the physical sciences. View budget-related information for various agencies (NIH, DOE, etc.). From American Institute of Physics.

United States Code

The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States.

govinfo

United States Code This link opens in a new window
A consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. You may also download titles and chapters of the U.S. Code, view the list of titles, or consult the Classification Tables listing sections of the U.S. Code affected by recently enacted laws.
The Office of the Law Revision Counsel prepares and publishes the United States Code, which is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. This site provide information about the Office and the U.S. Code database, and allows a search of the U.S. Code. You may also download titles and chapters of the U.S. Code, view the list of titles, or consult the Classification Tables listing sections of the U.S. Code affected by recently enacted laws.

Code of Federal Regulations

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) codifies the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis.

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. It is divided into 50 titles that represent broad areas subject to Federal regulation. Each volume of the CFR is updated once each calendar year and is issued on a quarterly basis. (U.S. Code of Federal Regulations)
Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal research tool including access to the pdf full-text of complete runs of many legal journals, US statutes, codes, and congressional and executive documents, Supreme Court Library, state session laws and state statutes, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, and many historical and international legal resources. The database is continually adding resources and expanding existing resources. Courtesy of Berkeley Law Library.
Provides full text to the early issues of many legal journals and law reviews, the Federal Register (1936-six months ago), US Supreme Court Library (1754-present) and treaties and agreements.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text access for publications of the United States Congress such as hearings, committee reports and prints, CRS reports, as well as executive branch documents. (Congressional Publications) [dates vary]
One stop shopping for all U.S. congressional publications. Provides indexing and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including the full-text of published Congressional Hearings (1824-present; unpublished hearings until 1979), Committee Prints (1817-present), Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports (1916-present), Congressional Record and its predecessor titles (1789-present), U.S. Congressional Serial Set and Maps (1789-present), Executive Branch Documents (1789-1932), Presidential Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations (1789-present), and Legislative Histories (1969-Present; earlier legislative histories are available via ProQuest's Legislative Insight).

Congressional Record

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debate of the U.S. Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. At the back of each daily issue is the "Daily Digest," which summarizes the day's floor and committee activities.

Congress.gov
1995-present.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text access for publications of the United States Congress such as hearings, committee reports and prints, CRS reports, as well as executive branch documents. (Congressional Publications) [dates vary]
One stop shopping for all U.S. congressional publications. Provides indexing and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including the full-text of published Congressional Hearings (1824-present; unpublished hearings until 1979), Committee Prints (1817-present), Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports (1916-present), Congressional Record and its predecessor titles (1789-present), U.S. Congressional Serial Set and Maps (1789-present), Executive Branch Documents (1789-1932), Presidential Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations (1789-present), and Legislative Histories (1969-Present; earlier legislative histories are available via ProQuest's Legislative Insight).

govinfo
GPO Federal Digital System. 1994-present.

Federal Register

The Federal Register is the official daily publication for Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential Documents.

ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text access for publications of the United States Congress such as hearings, committee reports and prints, CRS reports, as well as executive branch documents. (Congressional Publications) [dates vary]
One stop shopping for all U.S. congressional publications. Provides indexing and abstracts of congressional publications back to 1789, including the full-text of published Congressional Hearings (1824-present; unpublished hearings until 1979), Committee Prints (1817-present), Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports (1916-present), Congressional Record and its predecessor titles (1789-present), U.S. Congressional Serial Set and Maps (1789-present), Executive Branch Documents (1789-1932), Presidential Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations (1789-present), and Legislative Histories (1969-Present; earlier legislative histories are available via ProQuest's Legislative Insight).
Hein Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive legal research tool including access to the pdf full-text of complete runs of many legal journals, US statutes, codes, and congressional and executive documents, Supreme Court Library, state session laws and state statutes, the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, and many historical and international legal resources. The database is continually adding resources and expanding existing resources. Courtesy of Berkeley Law Library.
Provides full text to the early issues of many legal journals and law reviews, the Federal Register (1936-six months ago), US Supreme Court Library (1754-present) and treaties and agreements.

Federal Register
1994-present. The Office of the Federal Register posts this unofficial, HTML (XML-based) edition of the Federal Register on FederalRegister.gov to overcome the technical limitations of the official PDF edition and to demonstrate how an alternate version can effectively convey regulatory information to the public. This HTML version is presented in a unique web journal format known as “Federal Register 2.0,” or “FR2.”

Other Resources

Law Library Research Guides
A list of research guides on legal topics put together by the Berkeley Law Library.

Secondary menu

Federal & State Health Agencies and Resources: Federal Legislative & Regulatory Resources