Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Government Information Resources
Department of Agriculture
Focuses on on food, agriculture, natural resources, rural development, nutrition, and related issues based on public policy, the best available science, and effective management.
Department of Energy, Office of Environment, Health, Safety & Security
Responsible for policy development and technical assistance; safety analysis; and corporate safety and security programs.
Economic Research Service (USDA)
The site contains data sets and publications on many topics, including diet quality and nutrition; food access; food and nutrition assistance; food safety; natural resources and environment; food market and prices; international markets and trade; and many more.
Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC)
Advises Congress on issues affecting the Medicare program. Also analyzes access to care, quality of care, and other issues affecting Medicare. Publishes reports.
National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Incldues survey data (Beginning Postsecondary Students Longitudinal Study; High School & Beyond study; etc.); Career & Technical Education; Effective Practices Conferences; and much more.
State Agencies & Organizations
California Department of Managed Care
Includes HMO financial data, data on consumer complaints, and Department enforcement actions.
California Healthy Kids Resource Center
Maintains a comprehensive collection of reviewed health education materials for use by teachers, administrators, university faculty, and others who work with preschool through 12th grade students in school settings. Topics include nutrition, alcohol & drugs, health services, and more.
California Department of Health Care Access and Information
Provides health care data, including inpatient discharges, utilization, facility data, and more. Formerly OSHPD.
Demographic Research Unit (CA Department of FInance)
Data available includes estimates, forecasts, and demographic, social, economic, migration, and housing data.
City & County Agencies
City of Berkeley, Public Health Division
Includes Health Status Reports, and more.
Alameda County Public Health Deparment
Contains some Healthy People objectives for Alameda County, information on communicable diseases, vital statistics such as birth, death, and infant death data, and other reports and data, including city health profiles.
Contra Costa County, Health Services Department
Provides health data on HIV and AIDS, tuberculosis, and other reportable communicable diseases.
San Francisco Department of Public Health
Provides many reports, including HIV/AIDS and other communicable disease surveillance reports.
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Health, United States
Presents national trends in health statistics on such topics as birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, and other health topics.
National Center for Health Statistics Publications
Includes Advance Data, Monthly Vital Statistics, Vital and Health Statistics, and Vital Statistics of the United States.
Poverty Guidelines (DHHS)
U.S. federal poverty guidelines used to determine financial eligibility for certain federal programs.
State statistics from the Census Bureau.
California Research Bureau Reports
The California Research Bureau (CRB) provides nonpartisan research services to state officials, staff, and agencies. Reports include: An Overview of Men as Informal Caregivers, Psychosocial and Economic Health of Older American Indians and Alaskan Natives in California, Aging and the LGBT Community, Health Information Exchange: An Overview and more.
Public Policy Institute of California: Health & Human Services Publications
The Public Policy Institute of California is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank, which conducts independent, objective, nonpartisan research.
UCLA Center for Health Policy Research
The Center conducts research on a variety of national, state and local health policy issues, including health insurance, health care reform, health economics, health disparities and chronic disease.
Websites & Databases
A website for federal agencies to post discretionary funding opportunities and for grantees to find and apply to them.
Guides to Government Information (UCB)
Library guides on how to find all sorts of federal, congressional, and presidential information and documents.
US State Chemicals Policy
This database is created and maintained by the Chemicals Policy and Science Initiative (CPSI), a project of the Lowell Center for Sustainable Production at the University of Massachusetts Lowell. It can be searched by state, region, chemical, year, status, and policy category. The records in the entire database may be searches as well by entering a keyword such as a bill number, word, or phrase in the box below the pull-down menus.
Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library
Department of Health and Human Services
Environmental Protection Agency
Environmental Economics (EPA)
Conducts research and development on economic analytic methods; produces EPA economic reports; provides guidance for performing economic analysis. Focus areas include: benefit-cost research and techniques, economic impact models and measures, economic incentive mechanisms.
National Service Center for Environmental Publications
Find EPA technical, scientific, and educational materials.
A database of research products project including descriptions, types of peer review, links to related work and contacts for additional information.
California Department of Public Health
California Birth Defects Monitoring Program
Brief tables of Birth Defects in California and fact sheets and data on selected birth defects.
Office of Health Equity
OHE was established to provide a key leadership role to reduce health and mental health disparities to vulnerable communities. The work of OHE is informed in part, by their advisory committee and stakeholder meetings. Numerous reports are available online.
Public health and vital statistics data
Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment
Proposition 65 Information
Proposition 65, the Safe Drinking Water and Toxic Enforcement Act of 1986, protects California's drinking water sources from chemicals known to cause cancer, birth defects or other reproductive harm, and to inform citizens about exposures to such chemicals. Proposition 65 requires the state to maintain and update a list of chemicals known to the state to cause cancer or reproductive toxicity.
Toxicity Criteria Database
Search by chemical name or CAS number to find cancer potency information, acute reference exposure levels, chronic exposure reference levels, California public health goals, Proposition 65 information, and more.