Library Guides: Health Equity: Find Articles

Core Public Health Article Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Embase This link opens in a new window
International index including over 2,000 journals not in Medline, as well as conference abstracts. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research, including economic evaluations and healthcare policy & management.
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Global Health This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, reports, and more on the topics such as environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, medical microbiology, nutrition, public health, toxicology, and zoonoses. NOTE: UC Berkeley's access to Global Health will end in 2024.
Limited free full text is available for some hard-to-find journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, and research articles from smaller, society and non-English publishers. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications covering all areas of environmental science.
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is the primary database for nursing and allied health including topics such as addiction, aging, alternative/complementary medicine, biomedicine, mental health, psychology, and more. NOTE: UC Berkeley's access to CINAHL will end in 2024.
CINAHL Complete includes articles, books, audiovisuals, standards of care, and more. Indexing over 5,000 journals from 1937 forward, it features PreCINAHL citations and cited references starting with 1985. Over 730 journals are available full text.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.

Additional Article Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text for more than 7000 scholarly journals and other sources, including nearly 1100 peer-reviewed business publications. Offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, and accounting. [1965 - present]
Indexing, abstracts, and (in many cases) the full text of articles for the most important scholarly business journals as well as popular and trade magazines and newsletters.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Index of publications on Mexican-American topics and Latino cultures since 1967. [1967 - present]
Also includes materials about other Latino cultures (Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants) since 1992. Coverage includes art, language, sociology, public policy, economics, history, literature, politics, and law.
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENWH) This link opens in a new window
Index of over 200 ethnic, minority, and native press publications, including news, culture, and history topics. Searchable in English and Spanish. (ENWALL) [1960 - present]
Also includes a retrospective backfile of titles (1960-1989).
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States. [1970 - present]
Indexes books, journals, conference proceedings, and official documents on Hispanic America (North, Central, and South), Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Indexes major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, international legal journals. (Legal Trac) [1980 - present]
Also indexes law-related articles from hundreds of business and general interest titles.
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender issues. [dates vary]
Indexes Gay Lesbian Bisexual Transgender (GLBT)-specific core periodicals and GLBT-specific core books and reference works. The product also contains data mined from priority periodicals and over a thousand select titles. Also provides references to grey literature, newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. Disciplines covered include civil liberties, culture, employment, family, history, politics, psychology, religion, sociology and more. Will soon contain all relevant data from NISC's Sexual Diversity Studies.
Native Health Database This link opens in a new window
Citations for publications relating to health and medical issues of American Indian, Alaska Native, and Canadian First Nations populations. (1966 - present)
Contains bibliographic citations relating to health and medical issues of American Indian and Alaska Native and Canadian First Nations populations.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, books, dissertations, and reviews in the social sciences on sociological topics as well as selected anthropology, criminology, demography, law, social psychology, and urban development. [1952 - present]

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

Off-campus access is limited to current UCB faculty, staff and students. Choose one of the following methods:

Proxy Server:
Instructions to configure your browser for access to licensed resources.
Proxy Server FAQ.

Virtual Private Network (VPN):
Download and install the VPN client to allow access the UC Berkeley licensed resources.
VPN FAQ

Secondary menu

Health Equity: Find Articles

Core Public Health Article Databases

Additional Article Databases

Off Campus Access to Library Resources