It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
The Compendium compiles in one place descriptions of and links to 132 public datasets and resources that include information about health conditions and other factors that impact the health of minority populations. includes data and data-related resources from numerous US federal agencies.
OMH provides the most current quantitative information related to minority health. This includes sourcing and maintaining a body of expert knowledge on minority health status initiatives, and demographic statistics and analyses on minority populations, compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics, the Census Bureau, private foundations, clinical practitioners, private data sources and public agencies.
An introduction to geocoding and using area-based socioeconomic measures with public health surveillance data, based on the work of the Public Health Disparities Geocoding Project at the Harvard School of Public Health.
An interactive data visualization platform of a set of indicators of environmental exposures, population sensitivity, and adaptive capacity for California, used by local and state programs to plan to meet the needs of the communities most at risk of harm from climate change. Indicator data are available for download.
Data on school enrollment, non-English language learners, free lunch numbers, teacher and staff data, class size, revenue sources and amounts, and much more. Includes access to Ed-Data: timely and comprehensive data about K–12 education in California.
Create customized reports describing over 100 measures of diversity, opportunity, and quality of life for 362 metropolitan areas. Topic ares:
Population Demographics and Diversity
Residential Integration and Neighborhood Characteristics
HRSU is a leading state unit in collecting data and disseminating information about health and mental health disparities and inequities in California. HRSU researches and produces data to fulfill statutory mandated reports, and provides information and technical assistance to CDPH programs, state agencies, local health departments and stakeholders who are working to collect and report information on health and mental disparities and inequities in California. Includes the Healthy Communities Data and Indicators Project.
U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development provides access to data sets, including the American Housing Survey, median family incomes and income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
RACE COUNTS measures the overall performance, amount of racial disparity, and impact by population size of every county in California and maintains a comprehensive tracking tool of racial disparities across the state in seven key issue areas:
Crime & Justice,
Access to Health Care,
Healthy Built Environment,
Consists a database of health data by wealth quintile for more than 90 low- and middle-income countries covering more than 70 indicators, including childhood diseases and interventions, nutrition, sexual and reproductive health, mortality, health financing and other determinants of health; as well as ADePT: a software package developed by the World Bank that generates standardized tables and charts summarizing the results of distributional analyses of household survey data. It allows users to analyze inequalities in health, health care utilization, and health subsidies, by income.
The Health Equity Monitor currently includes over 30 reproductive, maternal, newborn and child health indicators, disaggregated by education, economic status, place of residence (rural vs. urban), subnational region and child's sex (where applicable) to illuminate Inequality in reproductive, maternal, newborn and child health.
A statistics portal that integrates data from reliable sources on thousands of topics
Categorized into market sectors, Statista provides access to quantitative facts on media, business, politics, and other areas. Sources of information include market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government sources. Data may be downloaded into spreadsheets and presentations. Also includes industry reports.
Analyzing health inequities requires using data to identify health differences between groups, and then to identify and examine the causes of these population differences in health. This report provides information on how to think about and analyze data related to health equity, and serves as a starting point documenting health inequities. Minnesota-focused, but applicable in other locations.