Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
California Institute for Rural Studies
CIRS focuses on a topics such as farm labor, food systems and rural health. Within these broad program areas, they work on fair labor practices, market barriers to farmers, water use and policy, pesticide use, food insecurity and access and more. Site includes publications, survey instruments, and more.
California Pan-Ethnic Health Network
Promotes health equity by advocating for public policies and sufficient resources to address the health needs of communities of color.
Office of Health Equity (Calif. Dept. of Public Health)
OHE was established to provide a key leadership role to reduce health and mental health disparities to vulnerable communities. The work of OHE is informed in part, by their advisory committee and stakeholder meetings. Numerous reports are available online.
Health Systems Equity: World Health Organuzation
To be effective and sustainable, interventions that aim to redress inequities must typically go beyond remedying a particular health inequality and also help empower the group in question through systemic changes, such as law reform or changes in economic or social relationships. Site includes details on partnerships, indicators, and more.
National Collaborating Centre for Determinants of Health
Canada's NCCDH provides the public health community with knowledge and resources to take action on the social determinants of health, to close the gap between those who are most and least healthy. The Resource Library
includes reports and tools on assessing organizational health equity capacity, intervention modification, capacity building, and more, including Applying a health equity lens to program planning
Allies for Reaching Community Health Equity
ARCHE promotes resources, learning, thought leadership, collaboration, and innovative solutions that advance health equity. Website includes webinars, trainings, a resource database
, and more.
Asian and Pacific Islander Health Forum
Works with communities to influence policy and to strengthen their community-based organizations to achieve health equity for AAs and NHPIs across the country. Provides policy and political analysis, research and data support,grants, training, technical assistance, and consulting.
Berkeley Media Studies Group: Health Equity
BMSG helps advocates develop or fine-tune their strategies so they can make better use of the media to influence how policy makers think about health and advance policies that improve the social determinants of health. Website includes publications and project details.
Center for Health Equity and Place
CHEP, from PolicyLink, is dedicated to achieving and institutionalizing health equity by supporting key stakeholders with technical assistance, policy advocacy tools, research and data analysis, and coalition-building consultation. Includes a resource library
Environmental Justice (US EPA)
Environmental justice is the fair treatment and meaningful involvement of all people regardless of race, color, national origin, or income, with respect to the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations, and policies. Site includes funding information, EPA's EJ 2020 Action Agenda, Environmental Justice Showcase Communities by Region, and more.
Health Equity Project (Society for Public Health Education)
The Health Equity Project aims to engage the Racial and Ethnic Approaches to Community Health (REACH) Centers of Excellence for Elimination of Health Disparities and Action Communities (CEEDs) by empowering its chapters, community-based organizations and community members to reduce diabetes and related risk factors among African Americans/Blacks and American Indians/Alaskan Natives populations. Site includes resources and CE webinars
Indian Health Services
An agency of the US Public Health Service, provides a comprehensive health services delivery system for American Indians and Alaska Natives with opportunity for maximum tribal involvement in developing and managing programs to meet their health needs. Several publications are available.
LGBT HealthLink is a community-driven network of experts and professionals looking to enhance LGBT health by reducing tobacco-, cancer-, and other health-disparities within our communities, primarily by linking people and information to educate on best practices.
National Alliance for Hispanic Health
A science-based nonprofit organization that focuses on improving the health and well-being of Hispanics. They work to improve the health of Hispanic communities and collaborate with others to secure health for all. They are a source of information on Hispanic health and a science-based and community driven advocate for health.
National Collaborative for Health Equity
The mission of the National Collaborative for Health Equity is to promote health equity by harnessing evidence, developing leaders, and catalyzing partnerships across the many different sectors that share responsibility for creating a more equitable and just society. Site includes media, resources, and a calendar of events, including webinars.
National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities
Plans, coordinates, reviews, and evaluates NIH minority health and health disparities research and activities; Promotes and supports the training of a diverse research workforce; Translates and disseminates research information; and more.
National LGBT Health Education Center
The National LGBT Health Education Center provides educational programs (webinars, learning modules, etc.), resources, and consultation to health care organizations with the goal of optimizing quality, cost-effective health care for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people.
The Praxis Project
The Praxis Project is a national organization that works in partnership with national, tribal, regional, state, and local partners to achieve health justice for all communities. Our mission is to build healthy communities by transforming the power relationships and structures that affect our lives and our communities. Tools available include Communicating for Health Justice: A Communications Strategy Curriculum for Advancing Health Issues
(PDF) to help advocates shift from health promotion and individual behavior change to a health systems framework.
Prevention Institute: Health Equity
Tools, publications, projects, and more to assist with changing the community conditions tied to inequities by targeting policies, practices, procedures, and norms that cause or perpetuate them.