Health Program Planning, Policy, and Evaluation: Data and Statistics

Largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States. National and State databases on inpatient, emergency department and ambulatory surgery visits.

Statistics regarding individual and small business health and dental plans offered on healthcare.gov.

Information on U.S. health spending by federal and local governments, private companies, and individuals, 1960 to current. Data is from the National Health Expenditure Account.

Charts, infographics, maps, and statistics on health insurance, health system performance, medicaid, etc.

The Research Data Assistance Center (ResDAC) provides free data user support to researchers interested in the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Medicare and Medicaid data. CMS data files are available, organized by data category, privacy level and CMS program. ResDAC tutorials.

The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians. Interactive maps display data geographically. Can download data as .xls

Includes all reports (2012-current) by facility for "documented social obligations to provide community benefits in the public interest" in exchange for tax-exempt status. From California Department of Health Care Access and Information.

Demographic, peyer, utilization information by county and facility. From California Department of of Health Care Access and Information (formerly OSHPD).

Contains the latest state-level data on topics relating to demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation. Data is provided in tables and maps.

A comprehensive guide to health statistics and data resources.

This website provides a series of short videos on using Microsoft Excel to analyze data. The tutorials cover tips, tricks and techniques useful for beginner-level and intermediate-level users, ranging from importing data to creating charts.

This blog post examines how Excel (and other spreadsheets) are used as a monitoring and evaluation tool, assessing the pros and cons of this option in relation to database driven alternatives.