It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
AHRQ supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. Funding opportunities and health care quality assessment information are available as well as the AHRQ Publications and Products.
Partners with states to promote innovations in publicly financed health care, especially for individuals with complex, high-cost needs. Brings together state and federal agencies, health plans, providers, and consumer groups to advance models of organizing, financing, and delivering health care services.
Access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization. Generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the U.S.
A non-profit organization focused on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations. We serve as a non-partisan source of facts, analysis and journalism for policymakers, the media, the health policy community and the public.
Contains surveys of U.S. households, individuals, medical care providers, and employers on their health care costs. Includes data on demographics, health status, health conditions, use of medical services, etc. Includes ASCII files (with related SAS and SPSS programming statements) and a SAS transport dataset. PDF and HTML summary files are also available for various data items.
JCAHO evaluates and accredits health care organizations and programs in the United States. With Quality Check one can retrieve details of an organization's accreditation or look into particular aspects of the evaluation.
A science-based nonprofit organization that focuses on improving the health and well-being of Hispanics. They work to improve the health of Hispanic communities and collaborate with others to secure health for all. They are a source of information on Hispanic health and a science-based and community driven advocate for health.
A non-profit watchdog organization that measures quality of care provided by the nation's managed care organizations. Publishes reports and provides the Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (HEDIS) which measures performance on important dimensions of care and service.
Contributes to the best practices and science of implementation, organization change, and system reinvention to improve outcomes across the spectrum of human services. Provides reports, books and articles.
Partnership seeks to increase understanding and use of clinical preventive services and population-based prevention to improve health. Besides those topics, they provide resources on advocacy, the business of health, and topical material on tobacco, immunization, nutrition, worksite health, and more.
A nonprofit, nongovernmental organization. Congress authorized the establishment of PCORI in 2010 to improve the quality and relevance of evidence available to help patients, caregivers, clinicians, employers, insurers, and policy makers make informed health decisions. They fund comparative clinical effectiveness research, as well as support work that will improve the methods used to conduct such studies.
PolicyLink is a national research and action institute advancing economic and social equity by Lifting Up What Works®. Their site includes an extensive library of resources organized by date, category, and type. One example of materials available is the report Access to Healthy Food and Why It Matters: A Review of the Research.
A national non-profit center dedicated to improving community health and well-being by building momentum for effective primary prevention. The site includes tools on coalition building and improving collaborations, and numerous publications on violence prevention, nutrition and physical activity, gender, environment, and more.
A network of public health professionals from all sectors who seek to increase the understanding and use of social marketing in public health at all levels. The site provides publications and resources such as Social Marketing and Public Health: Lessons from the Field.
State/Regional Organizations and Associations for Health Care Planning
Association of California's public health care systems, which are the core of the state's health care safety net, delivering high quality care to all in need and working to improve the health of their patients and communities.
Committed to advancing community health for California’s low-income and uninsured populations. SNI demonstrates and evaluates innovative strategies, shares best practices, and promotes a broader understanding of the role public hospitals and health systems play in promoting community health.
Collects and disseminates data about California's healthcare infrastructure. Publishes valuable information about healthcare outcomes. Monitors the construction, renovation, and seismic safety of hospitals and skilled nursing facilities and provides loan insurance to assist the capital needs of California's not-for-profit healthcare facilities.
A statewide health care consumer advocacy coalition, advocating for the goal of quality, affordable health care for all Californians. Represents consumers in the legislature, at administrative and regulatory agencies, in the media, and at public forums.
Conducts research on national, state, and local health policy issues, focusing on the health needs of communities and populations that are at risk for adverse health conditions or are underserved. Provides public service to policy makers and community leaders. Offers educational opportunities for graduate students and post-doctoral fellows. Their web site includes many publications and data.
International Organizations and Associations for Health Care Planning
IHI's worldwide work is focused in five key areas: Improvement Capability; Person- and Family-Centered Care; Patient Safety; Quality, Cost, and Value; Triple Aim for Populations. Website includes tools, measures, case studies, online trainings, and more.
Dedicated to improving public well-being by bringing the highest standards of quality, objectivity, and excellence to bear on information collection and analysis. Focus areas include health, nutrition, education, among other areas.
Using best practices and innovative approaches, the project develops and implements robust logistics solutions, fosters supportive commodity security environments, procures and ships health commodities, and partners with local organizations to build sustainable capacity. Handbooks and videos are available.