It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Update: Moffitt Library is closed for seismic work, but most other libraries are open. Learn more.
Nonprofits can use the tool to benchmark their advocacy skills, identify specific gaps and opportunities in their advocacy strategies, determine how they want to strengthen their advocacy, and efficiently focus resources to get the best results. The tool can also be used as part of an evaluation process. From Bolder Advocacy.
The Center helps states design health insurance programs to maximize access and coverage. Their publications cover such topics as medicare, Medicaid, SCHIP, etc. Online publications date from 1997 to the present.
Evidence-based recommendations of programs and policies that will help improve health and prevent disease. Hundreds of interventions have been reviewed. Systematic reviews are used to answer questions such as:
- Which program and policy interventions have been proven effective?
- Are there effective interventions that are right for my community?
- What might effective interventions cost; what is the likely return on investment?
Provides practical skill-building information on over 250 different topics. Topic sections include step-by-step instruction, examples, check-lists, and related resources. It has sections on leadership, strategic planning, community assessment, advocacy, grant writing, and evaluation, as well as Best Practices examples and evidence.
Clearinghouse for evidence-based practice of medicine literature — includes links to evidence-based guidelines, systematic reviews and best practices. From the Lamar Soutter Library, University of Massachusetts Medical School.
An interactive web-based resource to track, monitor, and assess the enabling environment for digital health throughout the world. GDHI engaged digital health experts from over 20 countries to develop a recommended set of indicators that help countries track, monitor, assess, and benchmark the effective use of digital health.
Continuously updated repository of syntheses of research evidence about governance, financial and delivery arrangements within health systems, and about implementation strategies that can support change in health systems. Health Systems Evidence also contains economic evaluations in these same domains, descriptions of health system reforms (with links to syntheses and economic evaluations when possible), and descriptions of health systems.
Milliman USA is a firm of actuaries and consultants. Publications address healthcare reform and discuss economic, regulatory and competitive forces reshaping the insurance, employee benefits and healthcare industries.
Contains model practices in public health as practiced by city and county health officials nationally. Searchable database of successful programs in various areas, such as chronic disease, animal control, cultural competence, emergency preparedness, environmental health, informatics, organizational practices, water quality, and more.
These reports measure trends in effectiveness of care, patient safety, timeliness of care, patient centeredness, and efficiency of care. The reports present, in chart form, the latest available findings on quality of and access to health care.
A partnership initiative created to provide performance standards for public health systems and encourage their use. Assessment instruments and various tools to aid in the assessment such as a user guide and fact sheet are available.
Provides information, research, policy analysis, technical assistance and resource development for governors and their staff. The health division covers issues in the areas of health care service delivery and reform, including payment reform, health workforce planning, quality improvement, and public health and behavioral health integration within the medical delivery system.
Provides several guides for evaluating outreach programs, including the Planning and Evaluating Health Information Outreach Projects Series, which presents step-by-step planning and evaluation methods.
- Provides a learning lab for health departments’ innovations;
- Develops and shares resources, tools, education, and expertise;
- Connects innovators within public health and across sectors;
- Monitors, disseminates, and builds the science of public health innovation.
The site includes innovation resources, such as the Public Health Innovation Playbook.
RE-AIM (Reach, Efficacy, Adoption, Implementation, Maintenance) is used to translate research into practice and to help plan programs and improve their chances of working in "real-world" settings. The framework has also been used to understand the relative strengths and weaknesses of different approaches to health promotion and chronic disease self-management-such as in-person counseling, group education classes, and telephone counseling.
Includes the Resource Library and the Topic Collections. Categories of documents include: Emergency management; Healthcare coalition development and organization; Disaster operations; Communications; and more. TRACIE was created to meet the information and technical assistance needs of regional ASPR staff, healthcare coalitions, healthcare entities, healthcare providers, emergency managers, public health practitioners, and others working in disaster medicine, healthcare system preparedness, and public health emergency preparedness.
California Publications & Websites for Health Care Planning
Publishes reports on progress in infant mortality, infectious disease, smoking prevalence, obesity, violent crime, and more in the 50 states. Current data are compared to previous years, and trends are revealed.
Focuses on informing health policy decisions, improving the quality and efficiency of care delivery, and promoting informed health care and coverage decisions. Offers a daily electronic news briefing on California and national health policy. Publications available. Provides grants statewide.
The NASBE State School Health Policy Database is a comprehensive set of laws and policies from 50 states on more than 40 school health topics. From the National Association of State Boards of Education.
Many publications on public health and health care topics related to California, the ACA, and more.
Books & eBooks
Evaluating Public and Community Health ProgramsA practical introduction to participatory program evaluation Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides a comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of evaluation, with a participatory model that brings stakeholders together for the good of the program. Linking community assessment, program implementation, and program evaluation, this book emphasizes practical, ongoing evaluation strategies that connect theory with application. This updated second edition includes new discussion on planning policy change programs using logic models and theory of change, plus expanded coverage of processes, outcomes, data collection, and more. Each chapter includes classroom activities and group discussion prompts, and the companion website provides worksheets, lecture slides, and a test bank for instructors. Mini cases help illustrate the real-world applications of the methods described, and expanded case studies allow students to dig deeper into practice and apply what they've learned. Accurate and effective evaluation is the key to a successful program. This book provides a thorough introduction to all aspects of this critical function, with a wealth of opportunities to apply new concepts. Learn evaluation strategies that involve all program stakeholders Link theory to practice with new mini cases and examples Understand the uses, processes, and approaches to evaluation Discover how ongoing evaluation increases program effectiveness Public and community health programs are a vital part of our social infrastructure, and the more effective they are, the more people they can serve. Proper planning is important, but continued evaluation is what keeps a program on track for the long term. Evaluating Public and Community Health Programs provides clear instruction and insightful discussion on the many facets of evaluation, with a central focus on real-world service.
Call Number: ONLINE & RA440.4 .H37 2017
Publication Date: 2017
Evaluation Fundamentals: insights into program effectiveness, quality, and valueThe Third Edition of Arlene Fink's Evaluation Fundamentals teaches the basic concepts and vocabulary necessary to do program evaluations and review the quality of evaluation research to make informed decisions about methods and outcomes to meet scientific and community needs. Dr. Fink thoroughly examines such issues as how to justify evaluation questions and set standards of effectiveness, design studies, identify best practices, and conduct ethical research. The book contains numerous examples of evaluation methods, as well as evaluation reports. It also includes practice exercises and suggested readings in print and online. Individuals can use the New Edition successfully on their own or in small or large groups. nbsp; "The text is extremely well organized. . . The concepts are easy to follow and the explanations are excellent." --Sharon K. Drake, Iowa State University nbsp; "Dr. Fink did an outstanding job of introducing concepts and practice of program evaluation in a way that anyone can understand. Those who are interested in program evaluation will enjoy this book regardless of their field of study." --Young Ik Cho, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee nbsp; "The key strength of this book is the introduction of the key concepts, terms, and considerations that are needed for an evaluation study.nbsp; These introductions are concise, understandable, and in logical order." --Richard C. Maurer, University of Kentucky
Call Number: RA399.A1 F563 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Health Program Management: from development through evaluationLearn how to effectively plan, implement, and evaluate healthprograms Health Program Management: From Development ThroughEvaluation, Second Edition is a practical and usefulintroduction to the management of health programs. While providingan overview of the current best practices in management, thetextbook goes beyond simple management techniques, teachingstudents how to develop, lead, and evaluate their programs toensure quality outcomes. The focus is on the three core managementconcepts of strategy, design, and leadership, but time is alsodevoted to describing facilitative management activities integralto successful programs. Students will learn techniques forcommunication, decision-making, quality assurance, marketing, andprogram evaluation within the structure of the book's programmanagement model. Logically organized with a separate chapter foreach activity, this resource provides a thorough, systematicoverview of the effective development, implementation, andevaluation of health programs. Health Program Management: From Development ThroughEvaluation, Second Edition provides a comprehensive approach tomanagement throughout all stages of a health program. Learn to develop a strategy that steers the program towardspecific goals Discover how to design, market, and lead an effective healthprogram Become familiar with the manager's role in a quality healthprogram Evaluate potential and existing programs for performance andcapability Students and aspiring managers and leaders preparing themselvesfor the challenges of managing health programs will find theinformation and techniques to develop the skills they need inHealth Program Management: From Development Through Evaluation,Second Edition.
Publication Date: 2015
Health Program Planning and Evaluation: a practical, systematic approach for community healthIn this revision of Health Program Planning and Evaluation, author L. Michele Issel carefully walks the reader through the process for developing, implementing, and evaluating successful community health promotion programs. Featuring reader-friendly, accessible language and practical tools and concepts, this outstanding resource prepares students and professionals to become savvy consumers of evaluation reports and prudent users of evaluation consultants. The Third Edition reflects the major changes in the field of community health with updated examples and references throughout. New to this Edition:* New examples and references throughout the book; * New key references to reflect the major changes within the field.* New examples and issues related to global health planning and evaluation* New material about information systems and web-based technology as it applies throughout the planning and evaluation cycle.* New, basic review of the ACA.* Enhanced information related to financing programs and monitoring the program costs* Updated instructor's manual