PubMed: Citations to journal articles on health and medical topics, with links to full text via 
.
PubMed searching top tips:
PubMed Searching Tips: Basic search guide; PubMed exercise set (docx). Start here to learn how to search PubMed more effectively.
Remember those PubMed "Top Tips"?
Most are also applicable to several other databases. 
Notes about the ProQuest databases (PsycInfo, Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, ERIC):
Search multiple databases simultaneously:
Reduce search results by not searching full text:
In Advanced Search, on the right of the search box, change from "Anywhere" to "Anywhere except full text."
The above are but a sample of the many databases available to find article and other citations.
See the Public Health Databases guide for more.
Ask a librarian for help if you are having trouble with your topic.
Grey Literature refers to publications not produced by commercial publishers: reports (pre-prints, technical reports, market research reports, etc.), theses, conference proceedings, etc. They are often produced by government entities, research institutions, or NGOs/IGOs.
The Guides to Public Health Subjects consists of topical web pages; each consisting of annotated lists of organizations, agencies, databases, and publications. Topics include:
• HIV/AIDS
• Health Equity
• Food/Nutrition
• Women's Health/MCH/Reproductive Health
• Health Program Planning, Policy, and Evaluation
and many more.
Google and other search engines can be useful for finding grey literature. Improve your search using:
Quotes for phrase searching:
"structural intervention"
Site: to specify a particular site or domain:
"structural intervention" site:.org (for a domain search)
"structural intervention" site: site:usaid.gov (for a specific site search)
Boolean search statements (eg, OR):
("social marketing" OR "structural health promotion")
Use MetaLib to find US Government produced grey literature on all topics.
Harvard's Think Tank Search will search the websites of over 1200 think tanks, research centers, and NGOs.
Use UC Library Search, the UCB library catalog, to find books, reports, etc. on your topic. Books, while not often where original research is published, often provide an overview of a topic. Books on research methods are also useful.
Handbook of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research: qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods
The field of community psychology has focused on individuals' and groups' behavior in interaction with their social contexts, with an emphasis on prevention, early intervention, wellness promotion, and competency development. Over the past few decades, however, community-based applications ofthe newest research methodologies have not kept pace with the development of theory and methodology with regard to multilevel data collection and analysis.The Handbook of Methodological Approaches to Community-Based Research is intended to aid the community-oriented researcher in learning about and applying cutting-edge quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods approaches. The Handbook presents a number of innovative methodologies relevant tocommunity-based research, illustrating their applicability to specific social problems and projects. These methodological approaches explore individuals and groups in interaction with their communities and provide examples of how to implement and evaluate interventions conducted at the communitylevel. The chapters discuss how particular methodologies can be used to help gather and analyze data dealing with community-based issues. Furthermore, they illustrate the benefits that occur when community theorists, interventionists, and methodologists work together to better understandcomplicated person-environment systems and the change processes within communities.
Respect Youth Stories: A Toolkit for Advocates to Ethically Engage in Youth Justice Storytelling by
Our primary aim in creating this toolkit is to assist advocacy organizations in establishing ethical and youth-informed practices for facilitating young people sharing their stories in public, including through the press, legislative testimony, digital media, publications, or panel discussions. We also hope reading this toolkit helps young people understand their right to establish boundaries while sharing their experiences in public.
Talking about Structural Inequalities in Everyday Life: new politics of race in groups, organizations, and social systems
Talking About Structural Inequalities in Everyday Life: New Politics of Race in Groups, Organizations, and Social Systems, provides critical attention to contemporary, innovative, and cutting?edge issues in group, organizational, and social systems that address the complexities of racialized structural inequalities in everyday life. This book provides a comprehensive focus on systemic, societal, and organizational functioning in a variety of contexts in advancing the interdisciplinary fields of human development, counseling, social work, education, public health, multiculturalism/cultural studies, and organizational consultation. One of the most fundamental aspects of this book engages readers in the connection between theory and praxis that incorporates a critical analytic approach to learning and the practicality of knowledge. A critical emphasis examines how inequalities and power relations manifest in groups, organizations, communities, and social systems within societal contexts. In particular, suppressing talk about racialized structural inequalities in the dominant culture has traditionally worked to marginalize communities of color. The subtle, barely visible, and sometimes unspeakable behavioral practices involving these racialized dynamics are explored. This scholarly book provides a valuable collection of chapters for researchers, prevention experts, clinicians, and policy makers, as well as research organizations, not?for?profit organizations, clinical agencies, and advanced level undergraduate and graduate courses focused on counseling, social work, education, public health, organizational consultation and advocacy.
Homeless Youth and the Search for Stability
Youth are one of the fastest growing segments of the homeless population. Although there has been much research on how youth become homeless and survive on the streets, we know very little about their pathways off the street and the many challenges that present during this process. This book relates the lived experiences of homeless youth as they negotiate the individual, sociocultural, and economic tensions of transitioning out of homeless and street contexts and cultures. Through interviews the authors gained privileged entry into the lives of youth in Toronto and Halifax over a year-long period. Through rich qualitative prose, quantitative elaboration, and comic-book narratives, participants spoke of courage, fortitude, strength, adversity, and at times, simple bad luck. Ultimately this became a story of fragility, complexity, living "on the edge," and the (re)-building of identity.
Using Youth Participatory Action Research to Center Black Youth’s Perspectives About Economic Mobility
During adolescence, youth develop complex thinking skills and the ability to initiate a deeper exploration of issues within their community. Given these rapidly increasing abilities, scholars have stressed the importance of involving youth in research concerning their lives and emphasize young people’s right to participate in decisions affecting them. The purpose of this methods case study is to discuss the process of using youth participatory action research (YPAR) methodology within the context of a 10-week summer program developed to center Black youth’s perspectives about economic mobility in their community.
Participatory Action Research
As novel, complex social problems increase, especially those involving vulnerable people who reside in challenging places, the limitations of conventional research methods implemented by just one or two investigators become apparent. Research and development alternatives are needed, particularly methods that engage teams of researchers in real world problem solving while simultaneously generating practice- and policy-relevant knowledge. Research methods that effectively tap the expertise of everyday people, especially those impacted by these targeted social problems, are a special priority because academic researchers often lack experiential knowledge that stems from direct, everyday encounters with these vexing problems.Participatory action research (PAR) responds to these manifest needs. It provides a methodological structure and operational guidelines for preparing and deploying people from various walks of life as co-researchers, and it provides a proven strategy for generating practice- and policy-relevant knowledge as problem-solving in real world contexts proceeds.
Leveraging Best Practices to Design Your Youth Participatory Action Research (YPAR) Project
The guide offers a wealth of valuable information for those looking to embark on YPAR projects. It serves as a roadmap for designing effective and impactful YPAR initiatives, incorporating the latest best practices and evidence-based strategies.
Highlights of "Leveraging Best Practices to Design Your Youth Participatory Action Research (YPAR) Project" include:
YPAR overview: Insights from the evidence
The science of adolescence and YPAR
Developmental considerations
Designing your YPAR project planning tool
YPAR tools and resources