Library Guides: Public Health Nutrition: Finding Articles

Core Public Health Article Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts in the fields of biomedicine and health, as well as portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

PubMed includes MEDLINE, PubMed Central (PMC), other biomedical and life science journals, and the NCBI Bookshelf. PubMed also provides links to other NCBI molecular biology resources, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system.
Note: The link above goes to a specially configured version of PubMed for UC Berkeley users that will display the Get It at UC button for full text article access. To use the free public version, please click here.
Embase This link opens in a new window
International index including over 2,000 journals not in Medline, as well as conference abstracts. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research, including economic evaluations and healthcare policy & management.
Indexes journals, including many not in Medline, from over 90 countries, and indexes conference abstracts from many conferences. Broad biomedical scope with strong coverage in drug, pharmaceutical, and toxicological research including economic evaluation.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, reports, books, and government publications covering all areas of environmental science.
AES incorporates the formerly titled "Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management" database - which includes Environmental Impact Statements - plus the databases AGRICOLA (1970-current) and TOXLINE (1999-current).
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Indexes leading journals in the arts, humanities, sciences and social sciences. Allows cited reference searching.
Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences and more.
Contains over 50 million records with more than half the content originating from outside North America. Indexes over 21,000 journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series in the sciences, technology, medicine, arts, and humanities.

Advanced PubMed

PubMed Tips and Tricks
Guide to maximizing your searches and exploring advanced features in the PubMed database.

Additional Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of scholarly and general interest journals, books, and reports. [1865 - present]
Articles from broad array of peer-reviewed journals, popular and trade magazines and news sources for nearly all areas of study; available in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
AgEcon Search This link opens in a new window
Open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics. (Reserach in Agricultural and Applied Economics)
Includes working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Citations for articles on all aspects of agriculture. [1970 - present]
Indexes books, journal articles, audiovisual materials, state agricultural and USDA publications. Subjects include agriculture, agricultural economics, animal science, entomology, horticulture, nutrition, plant diseases, and soil science.
CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers topics including biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, and environmental policy. Also includes the Global Health database, which covers environmental and occupational health, food safety and hygiene, infectious diseases, nutrition, public health, and toxicology.
Access to this resource will be discontinued effective 12/31/2023 due to library budget cuts. Covers topics including biodiversity, biotechnology, pest control, environmental pollution, animal science, nutrition and food technology, crop production, natural resources, forestry, environmental policy, and rural development. Note: The header says "CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health"
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Topics include eating disorders, eating habits, food standards, nutrition education, nutrition instruction, and school lunch programs. Includes journals, books, conferences and meetings, reports, theses/dissertations, and audiovisual media. Also includes materials on tests, measurement, and evaluation.
Indexes books, journals, reports, proceedings, statistical data, tests, dissertations, audiovisual materials, and ERIC documents on education research and practice.

ERIC
Free version. Topics include eating disorders, eating habits, food standards, nutrition education, nutrition instruction, and school lunch programs. Includes journals, books, conferences and meetings, reports, theses/dissertations, and audiovisual media. Also includes materials on tests, measurement, and evaluation.

Search Public Health Guides

Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library

Questions? Ask a librarian!

The Bioscience, Natural Resources & Public Health Library:

Off Campus Access to Library Resources

Off-campus access is limited to current UC Berkeley faculty, staff and students. Choose one of the following methods:

Library Proxy (aka EZproxy):
When you click on a link to an article, database, etc., from a library web page. you will be prompted to authenticate via CalNet.
If you click on an article (etc.) link found via a search engine or a non-UCB Library webpage, you should use this bookmarklet to access the licensed resource.

Virtual Private Network (VPN):
Download and install the VPN client to allow access the UC Berkeley licensed resources.
Make sure you select Library Access - Full Tunnel VPN when you log on.
VPN FAQ

Students: Problems setting up Library Proxy or VPN? Contact your librarian, or Student Technology Services: (510) 642-HELP, or sts-help@berkeley.edu.

Secondary menu